• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • Stop struggling with Lightroom! There's no need to spend hours hunting for the answers to your Lightroom Classic questions. All the information you need is in Adobe Lightroom Classic - The Missing FAQ!

    To help you get started, there's a series of easy tutorials to guide you through a simple workflow. As you grow in confidence, the book switches to a conversational FAQ format, so you can quickly find answers to advanced questions. And better still, the eBooks are updated for every release, so it's always up to date.
  • 17 August 2022 It's Lightroom update time again and there's a couple of minor improvements as well as new lenses and bug fixes! See this blog post for Lightroom Classic and this blog post for the Lightroom Cloud Ecosystem changes.

Color Checker Passport

retina

Member
Joined
Mar 31, 2009
Messages
36
Lightroom Version
11.4
Operating System
  1. macOS 12 Monterey
Running the latest version of Lightroom I'm no longer able to create colour profiles using the X-rite [now Calibrite] colour checker passport software

I've checked for updates to:
  • the Passport plugin software
  • Adobe DNG converter
  • Lightroom
I've tried disabling/enabling, uninstalling/reinstalling, restarting etc. The export goes through the usual process but fails to recognise the target, 95% filling the screen, well lit, perfectly exposed, in focus.

Any suggestions please, needed for product photography in a studio quite urgently.
Cheers
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
12,235
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Try this: Add the Color Checker Passport app to Full Disk Access in MacOS 'Privacy & Security'. Just like Lightroom it may need that in order to see the exported file.
 

retina

Member
Joined
Mar 31, 2009
Messages
36
Thanks Johan,
Just tried that, also giving Adobe DNG Converter the same access, no change. I've just seen some additional info in the Lightroom Plugin Manager. Under the Colour Checker plugin entry, instead of 'installed and running' it says 'installed, may not work'. With the status of 'This plug-in is enabled, but has encountered some problems'. Good shout on the Full Disk Access btw, pity it didn't work but something to consider for any other problems.
 

retina

Member
Joined
Mar 31, 2009
Messages
36
Update: I can create a profile using the standalone version of the ColourChecker Colour Calibration app by exporting the chart image from Lightroom as a DNG. I guess that means it's the Lightroom Plug-in that is at fault?
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
12,235
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Update: I can create a profile using the standalone version of the ColourChecker Colour Calibration app by exporting the chart image from Lightroom as a DNG. I guess that means it's the Lightroom Plug-in that is at fault?
Looks like it. I just checked the plugin manager and in my version of Lightroom 11.4 on an M1 Max MBP the plugin is 'installed and running'. The version of the plugin is 2.0.0.0 from November 2019, so nothing new. I can't actually try it, because I'm on the road with no color chart.
 

retina

Member
Joined
Mar 31, 2009
Messages
36
Interesting. I'm on an M1 Mini and the version of the plugin is 2.2.0.0. I'll try and find an older version and see if that will install. Thanks
 

retina

Member
Joined
Mar 31, 2009
Messages
36
Another update: I'm using a Canon 5D SR with, in this instance, a 100m Macro lens. I carrried out some more tests this morning and it seems that the problem, for me at least, is that the lightroom plug-in is now fussy about the size of the colour target within the frame. If it's too large the profile creation fails, but if it's smaller it's happy. I tried this with a color checker passport target and the larger A4 size target. I should add that this has never been a problem in the past [pre LR 11.4], but at least I have a solution for the time being.
Cheers.
 
Top