• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • Stop struggling with Lightroom! There's no need to spend hours hunting for the answers to your Lightroom Classic questions. All the information you need is in Adobe Lightroom Classic - The Missing FAQ!

    To help you get started, there's a series of easy tutorials to guide you through a simple workflow. As you grow in confidence, the book switches to a conversational FAQ format, so you can quickly find answers to advanced questions. And better still, the eBooks are updated for every release, so it's always up to date.
  • The February 2020 Lightroom updates are now available. Lightroom Classic has a brand new Defaults system, the ability to set a specific monitor for the secondary window and PSB format support. Lightroom (cloud-based service) has the ability to import presets on Android, DNG export and Split View support on iPadOS. The Missing FAQ and Edit Like a Pro eBooks are already updated for the changes.

Collections tags - transfer to another image

David Madison

New Member
Joined
Feb 14, 2020
Messages
3
Lightroom Version
Lightroom Classic versuin 9.2
Operating System
Windows 10
Is there any way to transfer the collection tags associated with one image file to another image file?

For instance, I have a low res scan of an image that is present in 10 collections; I make a high res scan of the image and then would like to include it in the same 10 collections (and then delete the low res version).

Is there a way to do this without manually adding to each collection?
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
15,343
Location
Houston, TX USA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Classic
Manual Collections are just that — manual. A smart Collection uses keywords and other metadata to determine membership. if a smart collection has criteria {keywords}{contains}{ mySpecialKeyword}. The just adding that "mySpecialKeyword" as a keyword to an image will automatically include that image in the smart collection. Similarly, removing "mySpecialKeyword" for a lo-res image will automatically remove it from the Smart collection.
 

David Madison

New Member
Joined
Feb 14, 2020
Messages
3
Cletus, thank you for your reply. I understand the difference between Smart Collections and Manual Collections, and I could solve my problem by converting all my manual collections to smart collections and adding the identifying keyword to all and so forth.

However I was hoping there was a more simple way to copy the manual collection tags from one image to another.
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
22,168
Location
Southampton, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
From memory, I think the Syncomatic plug-in can do that.
 
Joined
May 9, 2015
Messages
500
Lightroom Experience
Power User
In my experience, if you replace the image file with the new version using exact same name using Finder (Mac) or File manager (Windows), then go into the develop module to force it to re-read the image file and rebuild the preview, the new version will be used everywhere the old version had been and will inherit everything else from the old version as well. The old version will be non existent. If you do this and get a "metadata mismatch" warning, then save metadata to the file (not Read metadata from the file). Sometimes it's a bit difficult to get the preview re-built though.
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
22,168
Location
Southampton, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
In my experience, if you replace the image file with the new version using exact same name using Finder (Mac) or File manager (Windows), then go into the develop module to force it to re-read the image file and rebuild the preview, the new version will be used everywhere the old version had been and will inherit everything else from the old version as well. The old version will be non existent. If you do this and get a "metadata mismatch" warning, then save metadata to the file (not Read metadata from the file). Sometimes it's a bit difficult to get the preview re-built though.
Yes, if they're the same format, replacing works pretty well. Going to Develop won't (er, shouldn't!) rebuild the Library preview unless you actually apply some edits. And if the replacement file is a different resolution, that can mess up the metadata a bit.
 
Top