• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • Stop struggling with Lightroom! There's no need to spend hours hunting for the answers to your Lightroom Classic questions. All the information you need is in Adobe Lightroom Classic - The Missing FAQ!

    To help you get started, there's a series of easy tutorials to guide you through a simple workflow. As you grow in confidence, the book switches to a conversational FAQ format, so you can quickly find answers to advanced questions. And better still, the eBooks are updated for every release, so it's always up to date.
  • 17 August 2022 It's Lightroom update time again and there's a couple of minor improvements as well as new lenses and bug fixes! See this blog post for Lightroom Classic and this blog post for the Lightroom Cloud Ecosystem changes.

Classic Painfully Slow

Joined
May 22, 2019
Messages
6
Lightroom Version
2022
Operating System
  1. Windows 10
Hello, I have a photo collection of around 40k images on a Dell Latitude 7480 with the Intel i5-7300u and 32GB of RAM. I want to clean up redundant and not needed photos before migration to a new MAC Studio. Since applying the 2022 updates I find Classic painfully slow. I optimize the catalog regularly. I have a 1TB Crutial SATA SSD and outside of Classic this well turned machine has no performance issues. I have already tried many of the recommended performance tips and they have only helped a little. I tried turning SYNC, Face detection and address detection off again with minimal improvements. I did not have these issues before the latest updates. This machine seems to meet the HW requirements. Does anyone have a similar configuration and if so how is the performance? I am wondering what I may have missed or if for Classic 2022 this machine is underpowered. I am a DBA and have worked in large ERP system tuning since the 80's. As a DBA I am following a rule around cleaning up data before migrating to the newer modern MAC Studio platform. If I can't resolve this I may just move everything to the MAC Studio. Any comments or suggestions are welcome. Thanks btw, only 8% are RAW
 
Joined
Nov 5, 2017
Messages
1,530
Location
UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Classic
Joined
May 22, 2019
Messages
6
Hello, thanks for your reply. Running 11.4 and build 202206021307-z2f13617. I just turned off parallel previews and that may have helped. I also should mention I exported and reimported my entire collection a week ago. I was working an issue with Adobe on Classic to Lightroom cloud sync and decided to do a fresh install. Right now sync is disabled until I get this resolved. H
 
Joined
Nov 5, 2017
Messages
1,530
Location
UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Classic
Given the recent events you mention, I suspect it's simply that previews haven't been built, and each time you're moving to the next photo the preview needs building.

To check, select all the photos in the folder you're going to work through, then Library > Previews > Build Standard sized Previews - wait for it to complete and see if this has helped. If so, select all, do the same (probably overnight, you don't mention how many photos are in the catalog).
 
Joined
Jul 11, 2011
Messages
258
Location
San Antonio, TX
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
The simple truth is that this laptop is over 5 years old and was not that fast to begin with. It's basically junk now that maybe some kid can surf the internet on. But it's really time for the garbage pail on 5 year old mid-grade laptops. That 7th gen (we are on 12 now) processor was never that great to begin with. That laptop is not worth 80 bucks now and it is time to upgrade, which you are about to do. I can promise you that with any laptop made in the past 2 years from Dell you are going to see a dramatic improvement and your switch to Mac it is going to absolutely fly. So no worries because your problem is about to be solved. But for now, select all the images you are working on and build previews. Let it crank for a while, and then try it again. Or better, throw that laptop away and switch now and do the LR work in the new Mac. LR will absolutely fly.
 
Joined
May 22, 2019
Messages
6
The simple truth is that this laptop is over 5 years old and was not that fast to begin with. It's basically junk now that maybe some kid can surf the internet on. But it's really time for the garbage pail on 5 year old mid-grade laptops. That 7th gen (we are on 12 now) processor was never that great to begin with. That laptop is not worth 80 bucks now and it is time to upgrade, which you are about to do. I can promise you that with any laptop made in the past 2 years from Dell you are going to see a dramatic improvement and your switch to Mac it is going to absolutely fly. So no worries because your problem is about to be solved. But for now, select all the images you are working on and build previews. Let it crank for a while, and then try it again. Or better, throw that laptop away and switch now and do the LR work in the new Mac. LR will absolutely fly.
What’s junk is someone else’s treasure. I have done system tuning for some of the largest companies going back to the 80’s. I tune and setup high availability middleware and database infrastructure and since I am still employed after all these years I must be doing something right. I don’t waste perfect good hardware. While I might not be a Lightroom professional, I worked with Microsoft during the rollout of Windows 3.1 and NT 3.51, and administer estates of Windows and Linux servers. Dell Latitudes at excellent business machines and I have no intention of doing what you propose . Have a good life and don’t bother to post such arrogant replies to my posts. I just seriously started using this site today. At least the other 2 replies were very constructive.
 
Joined
May 22, 2019
Messages
6
Alternatively you could just migrate now and do the pruning on the Studio. Will be so much faster.
Just an idea.
Thanks for your reply. I agree. I typically like to solve issues before migrating to new HW. It’s what I do as a DBA. I will be on the Mac Studio once I Integrate it into my NAS storage and Cloud backup. Have a nice weekend
 
Joined
May 22, 2019
Messages
6
Given the recent events you mention, I suspect it's simply that previews haven't been built, and each time you're moving to the next photo the preview needs building.

To check, select all the photos in the folder you're going to work through, then Library > Previews > Build Standard sized Previews - wait for it to complete and see if this has helped. If so, select all, do the same (probably overnight, you don't mention how many photos are in the catalog).
Thanks, it’s much better now. Appreciate it.
 
Joined
Jul 11, 2011
Messages
258
Location
San Antonio, TX
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
Man you took that way wrong. You are already upgrading so you should do as I say and do the LR cleanup work on the new machine, not the old one. If you do LR is going to crawl on that old laptop. I have nowhere near your level of experience in computers so you should know this already. I build my own rigs, but I'm no computer expert like you are. You know computers and have worked at MS and know Dell? Then you know what your problem is and you already solved it. You just spent a lot of money on a new rig and I suggested that you use it and say goodbye to that old laptop. You are already doing that, so there should be no problem. Now I will tell you this.... When you set up the new rig and are trying to get your images into the new disk and linked to your LR catalog on that machine, that is going to be hard for you as it was for me and you can come on here and guys will help you through those hurdles.
 
Joined
Jul 11, 2011
Messages
258
Location
San Antonio, TX
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
Hello fellow Texan, I apologize for the wording of my comment. I just read it again and can see it was poorly worded. I certainly was not trying to insult you or your laptop, but for years I have been saying on photography blogs and forums that computers are getting way more powerful and cheaper every year that goes by, and LR/PS will fly on almost any new machine now.
I'm always telling photographers that they really have to replace their laptops every 3 years at the mid-level and maybe every 4 at the top. The truth is LR is going to drag on that old laptop, especially if you have 50-100 MB raw files like I have.
My laptop is a 2 year-old Dell XPS 15 4K model that was loaded with the best of everything you could get when I bought it. It was 3 grand and I know not everyone can do that. It should do me for another year and LR flies fast on that laptop on the road. I like that XPS to travel with because it is thin and light. No big gaming laptops for me. LR users benefit from 4K. I also have a 3-year old XPS 13, but it drags on LR when I'm working on those big raw files. I use it for regular non-Adobe stuff.
I guess what I'm saying is that anyone shooting a fairly high volume of raw files on the road and has a 5 year-old mid-range laptop should consider getting a new laptop if it can be afforded. That alone will fix 99% of your LR speed issues that so many people have.
Same with the desktop. The past 5 years have been gigantic in terms of everything PC / Mac / laptop capability and speed / power / connectivity / storage.
Heck, I'm even on a crusade on the forums that everyone who is a serious photographer must get a 32 inch 4K IPS Pro monitor. That will greatly increase your editing ability and enjoyment of your images. Those babies are getting much cheaper now, and much better. If you can spring for it go for a mini-LED version, but that gets you back up into the 2 grand area.
Anyway, I'm sorry for the wording and wasn't trying to be an equipment snob or rude. You are going to love LR and PS on that new Mac. It is going to absolutely fly, and your images are going to explode on that retina 5K display.
 
Joined
May 22, 2019
Messages
6
Hello fellow Texan, I apologize for the wording of my comment. I just read it again and can see it was poorly worded. I certainly was not trying to insult you or your laptop, but for years I have been saying on photography blogs and forums that computers are getting way more powerful and cheaper every year that goes by, and LR/PS will fly on almost any new machine now.
I'm always telling photographers that they really have to replace their laptops every 3 years at the mid-level and maybe every 4 at the top. The truth is LR is going to drag on that old laptop, especially if you have 50-100 MB raw files like I have.
My laptop is a 2 year-old Dell XPS 15 4K model that was loaded with the best of everything you could get when I bought it. It was 3 grand and I know not everyone can do that. It should do me for another year and LR flies fast on that laptop on the road. I like that XPS to travel with because it is thin and light. No big gaming laptops for me. LR users benefit from 4K. I also have a 3-year old XPS 13, but it drags on LR when I'm working on those big raw files. I use it for regular non-Adobe stuff.
I guess what I'm saying is that anyone shooting a fairly high volume of raw files on the road and has a 5 year-old mid-range laptop should consider getting a new laptop if it can be afforded. That alone will fix 99% of your LR speed issues that so many people have.
Same with the desktop. The past 5 years have been gigantic in terms of everything PC / Mac / laptop capability and speed / power / connectivity / storage.
Heck, I'm even on a crusade on the forums that everyone who is a serious photographer must get a 32 inch 4K IPS Pro monitor. That will greatly increase your editing ability and enjoyment of your images. Those babies are getting much cheaper now, and much better. If you can spring for it go for a mini-LED version, but that gets you back up into the 2 grand area.
Anyway, I'm sorry for the wording and wasn't trying to be an equipment snob or rude. You are going to love LR and PS on that new Mac. It is going to absolutely fly, and your images are going to explode on that retina 5K display.
Greg, from a fellow Texan ‘we are good’. I reimaged the Dell and the issue has been resolved. Before Lightroom that machine was hosting 3 Virtual (Kali, Ubuntu and Windows Server) machines that I used for CEH labs. It has served me well for 3 years and as I stated I have a new MAC Studio that I will be switching to shortly. I am writing this on a 2010 27” iMAC that someone from Apple told belonged in the garbage. That machine is still fine for many tasks and it used to run Apple Aperture. Especially since I installed a SATA SSD 3 years ago.
 
Joined
Jul 11, 2011
Messages
258
Location
San Antonio, TX
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
Greg, from a fellow Texan ‘we are good’. I reimaged the Dell and the issue has been resolved. Before Lightroom that machine was hosting 3 Virtual (Kali, Ubuntu and Windows Server) machines that I used for CEH labs. It has served me well for 3 years and as I stated I have a new MAC Studio that I will be switching to shortly. I am writing this on a 2010 27” iMAC that someone from Apple told belonged in the garbage. That machine is still fine for many tasks and it used to run Apple Aperture. Especially since I installed a SATA SSD 3 years ago.
Hey Texas 2! You forgot more yesterday than I will ever know about IT and the world of computers. So you drive on with whatever you are doing and you are going to love that new rig Man. But let me tell you this. If you can get that new rig up and running with LR and on the same day have all of the images on your new disk properly and completely cleanly connected to your LR Catalog, then you are a better man than most of us. I have done that at least 4 times when I build a new PC, reload windows, change to a faster boot drive or have to move LR's location for whatever reason - I have trouble. I have to come on here and get help from Clete of Jim, and one time the Queen herself was helping me directly.
 
Top