• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • The May 2019 Lightroom updates are now available. There's a brand new slider called Texture, available across the whole family of apps. Lightroom Classic includes a new tool called Flat Field Correction. Lightroom (cloud-based service) has lots of big improvements including cloud trash, invitation-only web galleries, improved chromatic aberration removal and more. The Missing FAQ and Edit Like a Pro eBooks are already updated for the changes. You'll also notice the CC's have disappeared off the end of the names, so we've updated the forum names to match.

Classic CC much slower than LR5.x ?

reach

New Member
Joined
Oct 22, 2018
Messages
22
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic 7
Lightroom Version
Classic CC 8.0
Operating System
Windows 10
Hi there,
I've upgraded from LR5.7, which I've used since many years and I've been pretty familiar with, to Classic CC (had to, due to a new camera / RAW format)

I was very much looking forward to the upgrade since I heard Adobe made big speed improvements. But now it seems the exact opposite is the case. And I'm not so much talking about import or export speed (I don't really care) but normal handling (I care a lot). I used LR5 on my notebook (i7 2core) and didn't notice a big difference to my desktop (i7 4core). Now CCC is barely usable on the notebook, because it's so slow. Going from one picture to the next, zooming in, etc... Is it just me, or is CCC generally much slower than LR5 (and maybe the praised speed improvements are just between old vs. new CCC?)

On a related subject: Lightroom eats up all my PC's performance. Web-browsing or watching a video while import or export is running is barely possible. Also LR itself is unresponsive while jobs are ongoing. Is there a LR setting to influence that? Or maybe a Windows setting?

Thx,
reach
 

tspear

Senior Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2014
Messages
1,753
Location
Waltham MA
Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Lightroom Version
Classic 7
What was the change in camera?
 

reach

New Member
Joined
Oct 22, 2018
Messages
22
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic 7
Ah yes, I forgot to tell this. I switched from an EOS 6D to a Fuji X-T20, so less pixels for Lightroom to deal with.
 

reach

New Member
Joined
Oct 22, 2018
Messages
22
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic 7
Hi,
I recently posted 5 questions here and for 4 of them I've got very quickly very competent answers. Just not for this one.
Is this because people here are sick of performance related questions, or because my question is somehow not legit?
In any case I would be very happy to know please. This is really an issue for me. Working with LR became really annoying. Being a nerd I'd be very tempted to buy one of these new CPUs with 16 cores and perhaps even a graphics card, but first I need to better understand the nature of the issue.

Thx, regards,
reach
 

tspear

Senior Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2014
Messages
1,753
Location
Waltham MA
Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Lightroom Version
Classic 7
Hi,
I recently posted 5 questions here and for 4 of them I've got very quickly very competent answers. Just not for this one.
Is this because people here are sick of performance related questions, or because my question is somehow not legit?
In any case I would be very happy to know please. This is really an issue for me. Working with LR became really annoying. Being a nerd I'd be very tempted to buy one of these new CPUs with 16 cores and perhaps even a graphics card, but first I need to better understand the nature of the issue.

Thx, regards,
reach
Not ignoring, just missed your reply.
Anyway, anecdotal says the Fuji X-Trans data is slower to convert then standard Bayer format raw data. I have not seen specific testing though.
In addition check your import settings. You could have changed preview sizes, enabled smart previews, added 1:1 previews....

Tim

Sent from my SM-J737T using Tapatalk
 

reach

New Member
Joined
Oct 22, 2018
Messages
22
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic 7
Thank you. I went through many tutorials about LR speedup, so I optimized preview sizes, granted 40GB storage on an SSD, etc...
Interesting to hear about the X-Trans slowness. That would make sense to a certain extend.

Any clue if LR CCC is generally slower than 5.x? I haven't heard so many complaints back then, only since CCC is around.
 

tspear

Senior Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2014
Messages
1,753
Location
Waltham MA
Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Lightroom Version
Classic 7
Thank you. I went through many tutorials about LR speedup, so I optimized preview sizes, granted 40GB storage on an SSD, etc...
Interesting to hear about the X-Trans slowness. That would make sense to a certain extend.

Any clue if LR CCC is generally slower than 5.x? I haven't heard so many complaints back then, only since CCC is around.
I have seen complaints about performance since I started considering Lr. That was with version 4/5 back in 2013. From my perspective, the amount of complaints has been pretty consistent. As hardware gets faster, camera data gets bigger, image processing gets more complex and sophisticated....

Each generation of Lr has increased the use of the GPU, however not all GPUs are faster than the CPU. So make sure you test with the GPU enabled and disabled and see if there is a change. In addition, Adobe has increased the multi-threading to take advantage of the newer multi-core CPUs. This affects the ability to handle multiple applications. Where before, Adobe would only consume one or two cores leaving the others available, Adobe now can consume many more. In fact, on my eight core system I often see Adobe using all eight....

Also, start using Task Manager, go to the performance tab and see if you are resource constrained on anything.

Tim
 

pknoot

CarpeBella Photography
Joined
Sep 26, 2008
Messages
119
Location
Tucson, AZ
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
6.x / CC 2015.x
You did not give any details on the notebook hardware (memory, storage size, speed), but I suspect your bottleneck lies there. You may also have other background programs taking up CPU time. Do this test: open Resource Monitor after booting up and see where it settles in terms of CPU and memory usage. The open LR and monitor the difference. It may give you an indication of where the issue is.
 

Eric Bowles

New Member
Joined
Oct 18, 2017
Messages
19
Location
Photographer and Workshop leader
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic 7
With the kind of upgrade you made, I suspect the issue is your import settings or your preferences. Are you seeing the slow performance on Import or when editing images? Usually the issue is related to applying settings and creating large previews on import, or the way minor edits are applied when you are editing. If you are creating a new full size preview with every image or every change, it takes a while to process. Stay away from creating 1:1 Previews as a matter of routine - just create them when needed. Building Smart Preview on import for everything and applying lots of complex Develop settings on import can slow performance dramatically.
 

reach

New Member
Joined
Oct 22, 2018
Messages
22
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic 7
pknoot, Eric:
And I'm not so much talking about import or export speed (I don't really care) but normal handling (I care a lot). I used LR5 on my notebook (i7 2core) and didn't notice a big difference to my desktop (i7 4core).
so I optimized preview sizes, granted 40GB storage on an SSD, etc...
Also: 32GB RAM (LR isn't RAM hungry, barely ever takes more than 4GB) and yes, there are usually background programs running, mostly Firefox. But this shouldn't slow down LR.
Also, as I write, it's also part of my problem that CCC eats so much performance that other programs lag or freeze. This didn't happen with LR5 and with no other program I know. Sure, it's nice that LR takes advantage of all CPU cores, but well written software shouldn't prioritize itself so much that it blocks the entire hardware. Doesn't this happen at your setup?
 

Ferguson

Linwood Ferguson
Staff member
Moderator
Lightroom Guru
Joined
Jan 18, 2009
Messages
1,806
Location
Cape Coral, FL
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Some random thoughts.

Yes, the new LR (and moreso each time) uses more of the CPU than the old, so other applications work less well at the same time. They took the cue from many of us, and said we want LR to run as fast as possible, so they are in many cases less careful to leave resources available. That's particularly true with more cores. If you have HyperThreading enabled (meaning you show as 8 cores not the four your really have) it will do even more things in parallel, leaving even less resources. Personally I think that's good; I can see how others might disagree. There's no real tuning you can do for it specifically.

One thing that happens now at more than 4 or 7 cores (not sure) is that it will build previews during import. This makes background even worse. If you plan to do mass develop settings before really working with the images, one thing you can try is setting "embedded" as the preview type on import; this is much faster to build and just takes the camera's preview file (assuming the fuji has one).

If you have hyperthreading disabled try enabling it, LR will use more parallelism.

During a lot of the new versions, I would see the vast majority of users say "much faster" and then a few "horribly slow". I think there were/are bugs (features) in there which are quite configuration specific. Sometimes cleaning out your configuration file and starting fresh (painful) may help, sometimes Adobe would fix it in the next release. The standard answers seem to start with "change things and see what impact it has", e.g. try a new catalog, try a different computer (if you can), see if it's specific images, turn GPU on and off, etc. The bad news is there never seemed to be any kind of satisfactory point at which it was faster for everyone. But... for most, it's much faster than version 6. I assume faster than 5 but never saw any statistics of 5 vs 6 or 5 vs. 7.

Linwood
 

LRList001

Active Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2012
Messages
306
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
6.x / CC 2015.x
Some random thoughts.

Yes, the new LR (and moreso each time) uses more of the CPU than the old, so other applications work less well at the same time. They took the cue from many of us, and said we want LR to run as fast as possible, so they are in many cases less careful to leave resources available. That's particularly true with more cores. If you have HyperThreading enabled (meaning you show as 8 cores not the four your really have) it will do even more things in parallel, leaving even less resources. Personally I think that's good; I can see how others might disagree. There's no real tuning you can do for it specifically.

One thing that happens now at more than 4 or 7 cores (not sure) is that it will build previews during import. This makes background even worse. If you plan to do mass develop settings before really working with the images, one thing you can try is setting "embedded" as the preview type on import; this is much faster to build and just takes the camera's preview file (assuming the fuji has one).

If you have hyperthreading disabled try enabling it, LR will use more parallelism.

During a lot of the new versions, I would see the vast majority of users say "much faster" and then a few "horribly slow". I think there were/are bugs (features) in there which are quite configuration specific. Sometimes cleaning out your configuration file and starting fresh (painful) may help, sometimes Adobe would fix it in the next release. The standard answers seem to start with "change things and see what impact it has", e.g. try a new catalog, try a different computer (if you can), see if it's specific images, turn GPU on and off, etc. The bad news is there never seemed to be any kind of satisfactory point at which it was faster for everyone. But... for most, it's much faster than version 6. I assume faster than 5 but never saw any statistics of 5 vs 6 or 5 vs. 7.

Linwood
In Windows 10 (and earlier Windows), you can set the Affinity, ie the number of threads linked to your process.

Read here for one way to limit resources:
Changing process priority or limiting maximum CPU Solved - Windows 10 Forums
and from the same screen shot, note the Set affinity setting just below the Set priority setting. As you can see, this doesn't bake in, but there are ways round that, also in the linked article.
 
Top