• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • The December 2019 Lightroom updates are now available. Lightroom Classic is just bug fixes and new cameras in this release, but it fixes a whole load of macOS Catalina issues.
    Lightroom (cloud-based service) has export options and direct import on iOS and the ability to contribute photos to someone else's account from the desktop/mobile apps.
    The Missing FAQ and Edit Like a Pro eBooks are already updated for the changes.
  • Stop struggling with Lightroom! There's no need to spend hours hunting for the answers to your Lightroom Classic questions. All the information you need is in Adobe Lightroom Classic - The Missing FAQ!

    To help you get started, there's a series of easy tutorials to guide you through a simple workflow. As you grow in confidence, the book switches to a conversational FAQ format, so you can quickly find answers to advanced questions. And better still, the eBooks are updated for every release, so it's always up to date.

Chromatic(?) Issues

Joined
Jun 27, 2012
Messages
44
Location
Dallas
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic
Operating System:Mac High Sierra
Exact Lightroom Version (Help menu > System Info):Classic CC 2015.12

On Easter Island I shot Moai at dawn with the sun coming up behind, bracketing for HDR. It gave me some interesting star bursts. It also gave me gold glows on the edges of the stone. I first thought that combining the photos created this (alignment or other), but I quickly saw it on the original exposures. Remove chromatic aberration (Lens Correction / Profile setting) is in a preset at load time. I tried manually turning it off and on again in Development. No joy. Does anyone have an idea 1) is it likely a chromatic problem?, and 2) how to get around it. Thanks
 
Joined
May 12, 2011
Messages
3,116
Location
Canada
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
I don't know exactly, but a screenshot of the portion of the image in question will likely fit.
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2012
Messages
44
Location
Dallas
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic
I am trying but a snippet of the image in a screenshot is still judged as too big. I can't seem to get it to you.
 
Joined
May 12, 2011
Messages
3,116
Location
Canada
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Are you using the Upload a File button at the bottom right? You should be.
2018-03-04 16_44_37-5-2-2 - Adobe Photoshop Lightroom Classic - Library.jpg
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2012
Messages
44
Location
Dallas
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic
Yeah, Hal, I just now, again, used the upload a file button to push a jpg of the photo (5 meg) and it was too large. The png screenshot is 254K and I get the same message. I don't know what is going on.

Going back to my original description, do you have any thoughts from what I said? Anyone else that has been waiting to see the photo, I'm sorry, but please wade in now. I appreciate any thoughts you might have. If a web master is monitoring - help!
 

happycranker

Active Member
Joined
Jun 25, 2009
Messages
326
Location
Perth, Western Australia
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Have you tried manually removing the halo, using the dropper tool? This works on typical CA colours and will prove if the issue is due to the lens or not. BTW the dropper tool is in the lens correction window under the manual tab.
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2012
Messages
44
Location
Dallas
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic
Hi happy,
I will look at this when I return home. Thanks for the suggestion. I will get back with you to let you know what happens.
 
Joined
Jul 6, 2012
Messages
127
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Yeah, Hal, I just now, again, used the upload a file button to push a jpg of the photo (5 meg) and it was too large. The png screenshot is 254K and I get the same message. I don't know what is going on.

Going back to my original description, do you have any thoughts from what I said? Anyone else that has been waiting to see the photo, I'm sorry, but please wade in now. I appreciate any thoughts you might have. If a web master is monitoring - help!
Perhaps you could crop the image within LR and export it as a jpg. That should get the file size down. Maybe the "Upload a File" button can't handle a *.png file?

One possibility (as I learned the hard way) is that your haloes are from oversharpening, either within LR or in your camera. Can't really evaluate this possibility without seeing the image, however.
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
11,828
Location
West Sussex, UK
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Perhaps you could crop the image within LR and export it as a jpg. That should get the file size down. Maybe the "Upload a File" button can't handle a *.png file?
PNG files are supported. I've attached one, which is larger than N+13's, let's see if it uploads.

Chromatic____Issues___Lightroom_Queen_Forums.png
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2012
Messages
44
Location
Dallas
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic
Let me catch everyone up on what I tried. I exported a jpg limited to 5 meg and a screen shot that was 250K. Next I tried an export a different photo to jpg unlimited (measures 12 meg). I used the button for "upload a file" and get a red message in each case saying the file is too big. I'm at a loss.

To Happycracker: I'm at a loss of using an eyedropper to fix this. Can you point me at a URL for me to learn this technique?
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
21,868
Location
Southampton, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
I think the Guru's have slightly larger limits... hang on...

1024KB max, 1600px x 1600px max.
supported file types: txt, pdf, png, jpg, jpeg, gif, lrtemplate, xmp
 
Top