Change in ACR UI

Joined
Oct 28, 2013
Messages
802
Location
Cheshire, UK
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic
Lightroom Version
Classic 9.3
Operating System
Windows 10
I may have missed it, but has there been much discussion of the change in the ACR UI to be much more Lightroom like? And what the motivation was? I don't use ACR or Photoshop, so it's just curiosity
 
Joined
Oct 8, 2007
Messages
5,553
Location
London
Lightroom Experience
Power User
to be much more Lightroom like? And what the motivation was?
You may have answered your own question, David, though I'd describe its appearance as more like some of the Lightroom-family UIs. Under the bonnet there have been other changes which have brought ACR-LR closer together - ie the new presets and profiles mechanism - and Julieanne Kost also uses the term "modernize" which I think is fair too.

Many of us use one or more flavours of Lightroom and will find the layout much more familiar when we need to use ACR - eg in PS to open files synced to Lr Mobile, editing smart objects, or just opening files from Explorer/Finder. I'm a little surprised to have heard so few grumbles, but I welcome the changes.
 
Last edited:

PhilBurton

Lightroom enthusiast (but still learning)
Premium Classic Member
Premium Cloud Member
Joined
Nov 16, 2015
Messages
2,286
Location
California, USA
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic
You may have answered your own question, David, though I'd describe its appearance as more like some of the Lightroom-family UIs. Under the bonnet there have been other changes which have brought ACR-LR closer together - ie the new presets and profiles mechanism - and Julieanne Kost also uses the term "modernize" which I think is fair too.

Many of us use one or more flavours of Lightroom and will find the layout much more familiar when we need to use ACR - eg in PS to open files synced to Lr Mobile, editing smart objects, or just opening files from Explorer/Finder. I'm a little surprised to have heard so few grumbles, but I welcome the changes.
Looking at Julieanne's post, if I didn't know I was looking at the ACR UI, I would have thought that it was a slightly redesigned Lightroom UI.

Phil
 
Joined
Oct 8, 2007
Messages
5,553
Location
London
Lightroom Experience
Power User
In the comments you can also see how readily some people mistake a LR-like UI with a LR-like workflow.

Since I am forced to use ACR at times, I'm delighted that stuff's no longer accessed via mystery-meat icons along the top and it's now on the right in clearly-labelled panels. There's also a nice detail which it shares with Cloudy Lightroom - little marks on local adjustment icons if you have applied a brush, radial or grad filter.
 
Joined
Oct 28, 2013
Messages
802
Location
Cheshire, UK
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic
Yes, the comments are enlightening. "I want to go back because I hate Lightroom"
I'm also afraid that I have little sympathy for someone who implements or allows an upgrade in the middle of an important project.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
10,407
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
The only thing where the critics may have a point is that one would not expect such a radical UI change in a point update. It would have been better if this was an upgrade to ACR 13, or if Adobe would have waited until that version was released. Many people install point updates without doing much checking in advance, because they do not expect much more than bug fixes and perhaps some minor improvements.
 
Joined
Oct 8, 2007
Messages
5,553
Location
London
Lightroom Experience
Power User
I'm also afraid that I have little sympathy for someone who implements or allows an upgrade in the middle of an important project.
They usually precede their complaints with "speaking as a professional"....
 

Carlindo Lago

Eternal Lightroom Apprentice
Joined
Apr 11, 2019
Messages
4
Location
Portugal
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic
In version 12.3 of Camera Raw, where is the button to load a new LUT in cube format?
In the past it was enough to click on option / alt + "new profile", but that button disappeared!
Could anyone help to find it? Thank you so much!
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
10,407
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
In version 12.3 of Camera Raw, where is the button to load a new LUT in cube format?
In the past it was enough to click on option / alt + "new profile", but that button disappeared!
Could anyone help to find it? Thank you so much!
No, that button has not disappeared. It just moved to the top.

1 2020-06-30 17-28-36.jpg
 

happycranker

Active Member
Joined
Jun 25, 2009
Messages
338
Location
Perth, Western Australia
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Thanks John, The link to Julieanne Kost is great, I missed her regular video's and did not realize there was a complete Adobe blog!
 
Top