Caution: Do not just UPGRADE or it is a trial

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Jan 18, 2009
Messages
2,523
Location
Fort Myers, FL
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic
This came up in another forum, and I did not see it personally but it seemed reliably reported.

Someone with Perpetual LR 6 may be prompted (not sure if you must "check for updates") to upgrade. People may be doing it to get the LR 6.13 update for Nikon D850.

If you use that option it will install the new Classic feature and set it up as a TRIAL. Again, I did not do it, so not sure what kind of warnings (if any) it gives. I was also told it removed 6.12.

So if you are looking for LR 6.13, it's not there yet, but take care which updates/upgrades you run, and read any prompts very carefully.

6.13 is due out later in the month.
 

Sean Bond

New Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2017
Messages
1
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
It happened to me yesterday.

Adobe Cloud informed me of an update to my Lightroom 6.12 installation so I proceeded to update.

The process removed Lightroom 6.12 and installed Lightroom Classic CC which, on execution, informed me that I don't have a license for the product so have the option of buying a subscription or using a 7 day trial.

I contacted Adobe support who, after giving them a full description of the issue, asked to remote desktop onto my PC. They then proceeded to amend numerous NTFS permissions within Adobe program folders, despite me querying what difference this would make, before giving up. The support contact then informed me that he would have to transfer me over to a specialised team where the long sorry description process started again. Quite why someone from a non-specialised team decided to mess about with NTFS permissions is beyond me.

The solution given to me by the specialised support team was to reinstall the original v6 Lightroom package. He provided no reason as to why the Adobe Cloud updater was asking me to update a perpetual licensed copy of Lightroom to a product that I wasn't licensed to use. It's either a genuine mistake by Adobe or a shocking example of trying to force users to pay for a new product.

I reinstalled v6 and added the 6.12 update and ran the Adobe Update Manager which automatically detects the need to be replaced by Adobe Cloud. Yet again Adobe Cloud flashes up with the 'new' update which without any warning or information about licensing allows me to update my perpetual Lightroom 6.12 with Lightroom Classic CC (which I am not licensed to use).

As for Adobe's support team - words failed me.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top