• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • Stop struggling with Lightroom! There's no need to spend hours hunting for the answers to your Lightroom 6 questions. All the information you need is in Adobe Lightroom 6 - The Missing FAQ!

    To help you get started, there's a series of easy tutorials to guide you through a simple workflow. As you grow in confidence, the book switches to a conversational FAQ format, so you can quickly find answers to advanced questions. When you upgrade to subscription, there's also a Lightroom Classic version available.

Catalogue merge question....

Sparkysnapper

New Member
Joined
Jun 26, 2017
Messages
9
Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Lightroom Version
Evening all,

All help much appreciated as I'm a real newbie muppet! Operating Lr cc with a subscription.

I just bought a windows laptop purely for Lightroom/photography. Before this I used a mac at home for this job. I ended up with 2 catalogues when I really only wanted one.

I copied the 'mac' catalogue to the windows laptop and have merged the 2 catalogues, so no problems there.
The 2 catalogues are in different folders on the laptop.

My question is....can I now delete the old catalogue from the laptop now it has been merged into the new one, or does Lightroom still reference to it?

Apologies if this seems a bit dull of me, but they say there's no such thing as a stupid question if you really don't know!

Thanks all. Much appreciated. :)

Mark
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
18,064
Location
Houston, TX USA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
Welcome to the forum A "catalog" consists of two parts: a Catalog file and the image files that have been imported. To merge catalogs means to combine the contents of the master catalog with the source catalog file. The results is that all information in the source catalog has been added to the master catalog. This includes the reference paths to the image files. At this point, the source catalog is superfluous and no longer needed. However rather than delete it, I recommend that you move it to the LR catalog backup folder "just in case".
 

Sparkysnapper

New Member
Joined
Jun 26, 2017
Messages
9
Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Lightroom Version
Cletus, thank you. I have done exactly that, and all appears well. Very grateful for your help and quick response.

All the best

Mark
 

Sparkysnapper

New Member
Joined
Jun 26, 2017
Messages
9
Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Lightroom Version
Hi Dan

Yes they were. Totally separate. I copied both the images and the catalogue over before merging. The old catalogue is still sitting on the mac at home with it's images too, but I'll not be using the mac from now on.

Thank you

Mark
 
Top