• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • The August 2019 Lightroom updates are now available. Lightroom Classic includes advanced GPU support, batch HDR/pano merge and more. Lightroom (cloud-based service) has deleted photos on the desktop/mobile apps, as well as video support and batch metadata editing on Android. The Missing FAQ and Edit Like a Pro eBooks are already updated for the changes.
  • Stop struggling with Lightroom! There's no need to spend hours hunting for the answers to your Lightroom 6 questions. All the information you need is in Adobe Lightroom 6 - The Missing FAQ!

    To help you started, there's a series of easy tutorials to guide you through a simple workflow. As you grow in confidence, the book switches to a conversational FAQ format, so you can quickly find answers to advanced questions. When you upgrade to subscription, there's also a Lightroom Classic version available.

Catalog will not backup

Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
14,487
Location
Houston, TX USA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Classic 8

tspear

Senior Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2014
Messages
1,757
Location
Waltham MA
Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Lightroom Version
Classic 7
If all of the reports are from Windows users, it could have identified the problem. It is clear with the 4GB warning message on the Mac that Adobe has been tinkering with the LR backup process. "If it ain't broke, don't dink with it!"
  • If I had asked my customers what they wanted, they would've said "a faster horse" - Henry Ford
  • An engineer would say - "If it ain't broke, it does not have enough features yet."
  • A tester would say: "If it ain't broke, you haven't looked hard enough."
  • When you're standing on railroad tracks, standing still isn't the safest course of action. (And that train of change? It's coming. Fast.)
  • If that were true, we'd still be in the stone age. Evolution isn't exclusive to biology.
  • The telegraph wasn't broke.

Just because I like to argue.... :D
 

David Whittle

New Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2016
Messages
15
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
I can export images just fine and Lightroom appears to work well. I can import and process images.
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
21,426
Location
Southampton, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
What do you mean that "it works perfectly on the Mac..."? I am getting the message that my catalog is larger than 4GB when it is not. That's not working perfectly. I can ignore the message and the catalog file will save as a zipped file and MacOS utilities will unzip it. So the warning message does not cause the backup to fail on the Mac. So I would describe that as "working but imperfectly". :)
There's a false error message on Mac, but that's just a cosmetic issue. Hitting the Don't Show Again solves it.

On Windows, there's a bigger issue. Like David (OP), I was able to reproduce an issue backing up a user's catalog on Windows, which backed up as expected on Mac, so there's nothing wrong with the catalog. It appears to only affect specific catalogs, and I've attached the user's catalog to the bug report.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
8,818
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Classic 7
There's a false error message on Mac, but that's just a cosmetic issue. Hitting the Don't Show Again solves it.
It's not even an error message. It's just a warning (but indeed sometimes a false warning).
 

David Whittle

New Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2016
Messages
15
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
I can go to the hard drive with the catalog backups and delete old back ups and copy in new backups. My Cat files are on the order of 1.4 gigs. All my hard drives are NTFS so the 4 gig limits are probably not a player. If I uncheck the two boxes 1. optimize the file and 2. Check the integrity of the file. The backup works fine
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
21,426
Location
Southampton, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
David, what's your catalog name? We have a bug confirmed with double-byte characters in the catalog name.
 

tspear

Senior Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2014
Messages
1,757
Location
Waltham MA
Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Lightroom Version
Classic 7
My catalog is " Daves Pictures-8- 16"
Based on Victoria's comment above, try renaming the catalog to something very simple; like "Dave2016" and eliminate all symbols and special characters.
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
21,426
Location
Southampton, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service

Gronlund I

Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2008
Messages
67
Location
Pori, Finland
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
One more comment to this discussion: I also had this issue. Following one advise I copyed the "config.lua" file to the LR preferencies folder and the backup worked fine.
Then I thought that double charachter issue and changed the catalog name so that it no more contains the character ä (which is common in finnish language)
and removed the config.lua file and the backup still works.
Let's mention that the whole issue from the beginning concerned only this one catalog (I have three of them).

Hope you can understand. what I'm trying to say. My english is quite primitive.
 

Attachments

Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
21,426
Location
Southampton, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
Your English is very understandable Gronlund, and that makes perfect sense. Thank you.
 
Top