• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • The August 2019 Lightroom updates are now available. Lightroom Classic includes advanced GPU support, batch HDR/pano merge and more. Lightroom (cloud-based service) has deleted photos on the desktop/mobile apps, as well as video support and batch metadata editing on Android. The Missing FAQ and Edit Like a Pro eBooks are already updated for the changes.
  • Stop struggling with Lightroom! There's no need to spend hours hunting for the answers to your Lightroom Classic questions. All the information you need is in Adobe Lightroom Classic - The Missing FAQ!

    To help you started, there's a series of easy tutorials to guide you through a simple workflow. As you grow in confidence, the book switches to a conversational FAQ format, so you can quickly find answers to advanced questions. And better still, the eBooks are updated for every release, so it's always up to date.

catalog merge how to choose main catalog

guido.coza

Active Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2013
Messages
128
Location
Cape Town, South Africa
Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Lightroom Version
6.x / CC 2015.x
Lightroom Version
LR cc classic
Operating System
macOS 10.11 El Capitan
Hi All
I had to start one catalog from a back-up. this catalog somehow has no face recognition. The original catalog of this back-up, was on a crashed exHD with all/most (70k+ files)of the pics. The default catalog( if I open LR on laptop with no exHD attahed), is still on the laptop but has hardly (300)pictures in it. However here the "peoples view" is working. How do I merge the two so that the laptop catalog becomes the default/main catalog
Please someone help as I do not want to do a mess of this
Txs in advance

Guido
 

Roelof Moorlag

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2013
Messages
1,064
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Classic 8
What do you exactly mean with "this catalog has no face recognition"?
Does the face recognition option not work?
Or are no faces taged with names? In this case maybe it's an old backup (before you tagged the faces)
I think it's best to figure this out first before merging catalogs (what is quire easy b.t.w.)
 

guido.coza

Active Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2013
Messages
128
Location
Cape Town, South Africa
Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Lightroom Version
6.x / CC 2015.x
Hi Roelof thank you for your reply If I have the catalog open from a old backup, newly added faces, Portraits) or not recognised as faces (No new faces detected)
If i import the same pics in the LR catalog on the laptop all faces are instantly detected as such!
My worry is now, that idf I merge the two catalogs that than face recognition is lost , or all the picture data is lost in the new one!??
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
8,809
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Classic 7
Face Detection is something that is set per catalog. Are you sure that in the catalog that doesn't detect faces you simply have not disabled face detection? Catalog Settings - Metadata - Automatically detect faces in all photos.
 

guido.coza

Active Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2013
Messages
128
Location
Cape Town, South Africa
Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Lightroom Version
6.x / CC 2015.x
Hello Johan
I checked it and switched it off and on again, no change!!! the strange thing is it did detect faces before. I try to attach a screen shot. I do not know what this could be??? on the original opening of the catalog it initiated the face detection automatically. Pictures/files i added afterwards seem to get completly ignored
 
Joined
May 12, 2011
Messages
2,983
Location
Canada
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic 8
This is probably a daft question, but when you click on the identity plate in the upper left of the LR screen, do you have Face Detection paused?
 

guido.coza

Active Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2013
Messages
128
Location
Cape Town, South Africa
Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Lightroom Version
6.x / CC 2015.x
hello Hal
No it is not! I actually paused it shut down LR, opened it and switched it on again, sadly no change.
the most confusing dfor me is, when i opened this catalog from the backup for the first time, LR went thru all the faces and did a check! pictures which where added afterwards are completely ignored!!
 

Roelof Moorlag

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2013
Messages
1,064
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Classic 8
As from the version 7.3 Lightroom provides the option to find faces again, did you try this?
Scroll all the way down!

You can vote here for a 'real' reindexing option:

Maybe you find this information interesting, especialy response #37 from Alexey:
 
Top