• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • We are delighted to announce that Single Sign On has just gone live, so you'll no longer have to remember multiple login details for this site. Most existing passwords have been carried over, but if your password doesn't work, you can reset it using the Lost My Password link. Your current forum username is Guest. You're welcome to choose your preferred username here.

Catalog backup

Resoman

Active Member
Joined
May 25, 2011
Messages
153
Location
Elgin, TX
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic 8
Lightroom Version
LR Classic CC, 8.1 release
Operating System
macOS 10.14 Mojave
It appears that there is no way to back up my catalog without shutting LR down, am I correct?
 

Jim Wilde

Lightroom Guru
Staff member
Moderator
Lightroom Guru
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
11,373
Location
West Sussex, UK
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic 8
Correct....the catalog database needs to be closed before it can be safely copied using Lightroom's own catalog backup process. You can copy it when it's open (as Time Machine can do), but there's every chance the integrity of the copy will be compromised.
 

PhilBurton

Senior Member
Joined
Nov 16, 2015
Messages
1,582
Location
California, USA
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic 8
Correct....the catalog database needs to be closed before it can be safely copied using Lightroom's own catalog backup process. You can copy it when it's open (as Time Machine can do), but there's every chance the integrity of the copy will be compromised.
That's a "feature" of Lightroom. I use Quicken, which also uses an sqlite3 database. Quicken's built-in backup feature can be invoked from within the program at at time. Quicken will always prompt you if necessary to SAVE the last transaction you entered.

Phil Burton
 
Joined
Jan 6, 2018
Messages
168
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Classic 7
But why would you want to backup while the database is in use ? Every info (develop setting, metadata, etc. is written in the database as soon as you add/modify it.
Saving the database before the end of your job, (which needs to close it) doesn't make sens to me. (unless you never end your job and therefore keep the database open forever).
 

Resoman

Active Member
Joined
May 25, 2011
Messages
153
Location
Elgin, TX
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic 8
I shut down LR this morning, and successfully backed up the catalog. Now I've fired it up again and will get back to work, knowing I've got a fresh BU!
 

I-See-Light

Senior Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2013
Messages
1,086
Location
Queensland
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic 8
In the absence of a Menu > Backup while running Lightroom, there is a useful Script called "LRRelaunch"
Installed and run from the Menu > Scripts > LRRelaunch, it effectively shuts Lr down allowing you to create a Backup of the catalog in the normal way and then automatically restarts Lightroom without any action from you. A Backup will only consume your time.

 
Top