• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • Stop struggling with Lightroom! There's no need to spend hours hunting for the answers to your Lightroom Classic questions. All the information you need is in Adobe Lightroom Classic - The Missing FAQ!

    To help you get started, there's a series of easy tutorials to guide you through a simple workflow. As you grow in confidence, the book switches to a conversational FAQ format, so you can quickly find answers to advanced questions. And better still, the eBooks are updated for every release, so it's always up to date.
  • 17 August 2022 It's Lightroom update time again and there's a couple of minor improvements as well as new cameras, lenses and bug fixes! See this blog post for Lightroom Classic and this blog post for the Lightroom Cloud Ecosystem changes.

Capture Day of Week - Smart Collection

Status
Not open for further replies.

phrank

New Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2017
Messages
11
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Lightroom Version
6.1.4
Operating System
  1. macOS 10.14 Mojave
Hi everybody, I do some spring cleaning of my LR databases. Does anybody know if it's possible in LR to search for e.g. all mondays, tuesdays, wednedays etc.
I have a recurring jobs e.g. every Monday night and want o search for all. In Apple's Aperture I was able to make a smart filter "Capture Day of Week", so probably it's possible too in LightRoom… I don't really understand what the Smart Collection field "Day" is useful for, or I don't use it correctly.
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2013
Messages
1,939
Location
Queensland
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic
"Day" field in a Smart Collection 'search' will be the day 'number'.
eg. Day-Month-Year 10-5-2022 Day=10.
I believe you would need a Plugin to find 'Day of the week'. Something like Jeffrey Friedl's "Data Explorer"
http://regex.info/blog/lightroom-goodies/data-explorer#list
Just a clip of some of the info that "Data Explorer" can extract-
2022-05-10 05_47_26-Window.jpg
 
Joined
Apr 3, 2012
Messages
1,686
Location
Bay Area, California, USA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Classic
The Library Filter bar lets you filter by Month (January, February, etc.) or by Day of the month (1, 2, ..., 31) but not day of the week (Mon, Tue, etc.). This isn't available in smart collections, and Month and Day were added to the Library Filter in some version much later than yours (6.1.4).

You'll have to use the Any Filter plugin to do this, e.g.

1652125921577.png


By the way, is your installed version really 6.1.4? Or is it really 6.14, which is the last release of LR 6? You can update to 6.14 following these instructions:
https://community.adobe.com/t5/ligh...te-lightroom-6-0-to-6-14/m-p/10819370#M170107
 

phrank

New Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2017
Messages
11
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Hi guys, thanks for the infos. I got the last version of LR 6.14 and will be the last I ever use… I’ve tested a few time newer versions, but see much improvement what I need, except new RAW profiles…
"Any filter plugin" is exactly what Ive looked for and wish this would be included into LR, but 8$ it's worth the time I can save;) Thanks.
 

phrank

New Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2017
Messages
11
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
well i have found a better solution which is a little bit slower , but produces a much better images quality…
 

Colin Grant

Active Member
Joined
Apr 18, 2016
Messages
493
Location
Norfolk
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic
well i have found a better solution which is a little bit slower , but produces a much better images quality…
Would you like to share :)

I have looked around over the years but never found anything that is so significantly different that I have felt the need for change. The closest I came was when I switched to Fuji but raf processing in Lr is much improved.
 

phrank

New Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2017
Messages
11
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Hi, i don't want to troll here around;) After several Digital Asset Management software, Aperture and Lightroom, finally I have (to) switched to Capture One. I don't like to be caged and want to access always my photos and Digital Asset Managemen system. I prefer to buy a software and upgrade from time to time, if I need new RAW profiles. Because I need to move all meta data, I have intensive used all pro software side by side again. I really like LR's open interface, which makes it possible to pimp it with any kind of Plugin– even the abandoned Place Finder in LR 6.14… It's fast to work and easy to do Digital Asset Management work, but haven't seen much improvement in this area. The Library Filter is okay, but I still miss a list view feature like in Aperture or Media Pro. Anyway, Capture One Pro 22 RAW processing gives me much better results that in Aperture and Lightroom. If Adobe changes their business model and improve LR's Digital Asset Management and RAW processing, I will try it again;)
 

Colin Grant

Active Member
Joined
Apr 18, 2016
Messages
493
Location
Norfolk
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic
Well compared to C1, Lr asset management is a dream and I have C1 21 on my iMac. Still I hope you are happy with whatever you choose. For me Lr is the better, especially with Ps on the side. At £10 per month I find the Adobe product brilliant . With Lr, LrC, Mobile and more besides it cannot be criticised from a value perspective imo. As for the old chestnut about business model - me thinks you will find more and more developers adopting the subscription route, even C1 is skewed towards that nowadays. Incidentally, in what way can Adobe improve their raw editing?

Anyway, I thought you had this special way of doing things that was slower. Clearly not - you have just adopted C1, which is your choice of course.
 

bobsomrak

Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2021
Messages
70
@Colin Grant said

”Incidentally, in what way can Adobe improve their raw editing?”

For starters they could fix all the LONG STANDING bugs is the copy/paste, sync, autosync processes. Many of them have been around for years.
 

Colin Grant

Active Member
Joined
Apr 18, 2016
Messages
493
Location
Norfolk
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic
@Colin Grant said

”Incidentally, in what way can Adobe improve their raw editing?”

For starters they could fix all the LONG STANDING bugs is the copy/paste, sync, autosync processes. Many of them have been around for years.
If you say so. I certainly have no issues. But sync with what and cut and paste what exactly?
 

Colin Grant

Active Member
Joined
Apr 18, 2016
Messages
493
Location
Norfolk
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic
There is an equivalent list in C1, ON1 and just about every other piece of software. I get the picture and we can all run to the bug list to support our argument. You do not convince me or many others I suspect , although I I understand the real issue (I think). Given the size of the Adobe customer base many disagree that these are all significant issues. Anyway enough of this you can play with your new toy and I hope you enjoy it. You really should read the bug/eenhancement request list though.
 

Colin Grant

Active Member
Joined
Apr 18, 2016
Messages
493
Location
Norfolk
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic
@Colin Grant

You specifically asked for additional info so I replied with threads I was participating in that lists some of the issues. I never said other software is not buggy.
This is all so predictable and to be honest boring now. I thought you had found some new way to process raw. That seems not to be the case so I have lost all interest and am no longer following this thread.
 

phrank

New Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2017
Messages
11
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Hi, i have to say i only tested the actual version of Lightroom classic a bit. Haven't seen much improvement in raw processing, buuuut, a big but, it's still faster and better to handle tons of images and do easier to do the culling work. Just missing a List View and Place finder like in Media Pro and C1. Probably i will give it a try again – only for Digital Asset Management purposes (I hope Victoria was right and i can handle millions of photos in one database;)
After Adobe changed their business model, Phase One has discontinued Media Pro, Apple with Aperture, I don't trust any software company anymore anyway and set on XMP – thanks for that to Adobe. I just don't like to be caged ;)
 

PhilBurton

Lightroom enthusiast (but still learning)
Premium Classic Member
Joined
Nov 16, 2015
Messages
2,777
Location
California, USA
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic
It's a business first, whether the company is Adobe or the one that offers Capture One. And the business has to be profitable, or the company will discontinue the product or perhaps go out of business completely. So it's "Pay me now or pay me later."
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top