• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • The November 2019 Lightroom updates are now available. Lightroom Classic includes the ability to export the same photos as multiple sizes/formats in a single export, content aware fill for panorama edges and more. It does require a catalog format upgrade and there are updated system requirements, so you may want to wait a few days before upgrading.
    Lightroom (cloud-based service) has export options (such as TIFF format, renaming and color space), custom sort order on the desktop, copy/paste to multiple photos on iOS and more.
    The Missing FAQ and Edit Like a Pro eBooks are already updated for the changes.
  • Stop struggling with Lightroom! There's no need to spend hours hunting for the answers to your Lightroom 6 questions. All the information you need is in Adobe Lightroom 6 - The Missing FAQ!

    To help you get started, there's a series of easy tutorials to guide you through a simple workflow. As you grow in confidence, the book switches to a conversational FAQ format, so you can quickly find answers to advanced questions. When you upgrade to subscription, there's also a Lightroom Classic version available.

Capitalising KEYWORDS

Monty

New Member
Joined
May 12, 2012
Messages
11
Location
U.K.
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
I am trying to add keywords beginning with Capital Letters but LR insists on demoting them to lower case (probably because they already exist in that form). How might I override this please?
 

Monty

New Member
Joined
May 12, 2012
Messages
11
Location
U.K.
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
If a keyword already exists, you can edit it in the keyword list. Right-click on it.
Yes, thanks Johan, I have discovered that. What I wanted to do was find a way to stop LR defaulting to a saved Keyword whenever I type it in to the Keywording module Keyword Entry box. It's a hassle to have to navigate down to the Keyword List, search for the keyword, Edit it and then return to the Keywording module. I wondered if there was a short cut or keyboard shortcut that would disable the automatic "the computer says no" mode.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
9,163
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
If Lightroom did that, you would end up with two versions of the same keyword. One that starts with a capital letter, and one without. I don't think that is what you want...

You only have to edit the keyword in the list once. Change all keywords so they start with a capital letter. From now on, Lightroom will default to that.

Also, if certain keywords already exist, you don't have to type them in all the time for new images. Look at the 'Recent Keywords' block and the 'Keyword Suggestions' block. Did you realize these are buttons? Just click on a keyword to add it to all selected images.
 

Monty

New Member
Joined
May 12, 2012
Messages
11
Location
U.K.
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Yes that's a fair point. Trouble is that I've been using LR since version 1 and have thousands of keywords in my 190,000 picture catalogue. <Sobs gently>. Thanks for your prompt responses.
 

tspear

Senior Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2014
Messages
1,770
Location
Waltham MA
Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Lightroom Version
Monty,

I have not tried this, but in theory from what I have read you can do a global solution. I would suggest building a small test catalog to try it.
1. Export the full keyword list.
2. Open in the exported list in text edit.
3. Follow these directions to transform Convert Upper Case to Lower Case Text (and Vice Versa) on Mac | OSXDaily (Choose capitalize or lowercase as you desire)
4. Import the keyword list back into Lr.

Good luck,

Tim
 

Monty

New Member
Joined
May 12, 2012
Messages
11
Location
U.K.
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Tim
:sick: Thanks, but on reflection, I shall continue to do this on a 'Need To Capitalise' basis just for pictures I send to an Agency. Life, regrettably, is too short.
 
Top