Can't create a preset

Status
Not open for further replies.

Roy Mathers

Active Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2007
Messages
252
Location
Hertfordshire, UK
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
I wonder if someone can help me please? I have a favourite sharpening action that I have created in Photoshop and, from it, I have made a droplet. To use this in LR2, I used Preferences and Additional External Editor, then selected the droplet. This appears to work correctly.

The next step I wanted was to make a preset of this so, in the same Preferences dialogue, I selected the Preset drop down list and selected Save Current Settings as Preset and named the preset the same as the droplet (it's actually 'High Sharpen'). Now, here is the problem - I can't find the preset that I have saved anywhere, certainly not in the User Preset list in the Develop module. My questions are, am I creating the preset correctly and, if so, where will I find the saved preset? Thanks for any help you can give me.
 
Roy, you're 15 posts in and you don't have your computer information in your sig as required. We're not being pedants about it, but you get quicker answers when you have this vital information already visible.

I could tell you where to look if I knew what OS you were on.
 
Sorry Sean, I didn't realise. It was an oversight.

Anyway, I've now added the information (I hope it's what's required) and would appreciate any help you can give.
 
Sorry but I cannot help here since I only use PS CS and cannot create a droplet.
However I cannot follow " in the same Preferences dialogue, I selected the Preset drop down list". ?
As far as I am aware you have to have a file selected with some settings applied in LR to create a new preset and this is done from the left panel "presets+ / create a new preset", then select the items to be applied from the drop down list.
 
Hi Roy,
Can you check the presets folder and see if it's there:
In Edit>Preferences open the Presets folder and click on 'Show Lightroom Presets Folder'.
From there open Develop Presets. Look for a preset with your name there or in a subfolder.
 
Sean - no, it isn't there. The only ones that are there are the ones that are already showing in the Presets list in the Develop Module. I assume I did go the right way in creating the preset in the first place?
 
Different tack. I get the impression we're talking about two different things.

Roy, are you talking about saving an 'Additonal External Editor' preset, in the Preferences 'External Editing' tab? I think the other responders are talking about 'Develop Presets' instead.

If so, I'm not sure where those External Editor presets are stored, but you should be able to access it from the preferences menu, and apply it thru the 'Edit In....' drop down context menu.

Edit: that preset is stored here on XP

x:\Documents and Settings\username\Application Data\Adobe\Lightroom\External Editor Presets

Note that some of that folder tree is 'hidden' by default in Windows. Unhide it at Control Panel > Folder Options > View tab > check 'Show hidden folders/files' radio button.
 
Sorry but I cannot help here since I only use PS CS and cannot create a droplet.
However I cannot follow " in the same Preferences dialogue, I selected the Preset drop down list". ?
As far as I am aware you have to have a file selected with some settings applied in LR to create a new preset and this is done from the left panel "presets+ / create a new preset", then select the items to be applied from the drop down list.

Denis - in the Preferences dialogue box (External Editing tab), there is a drop down list just below 'Additional External Editor' marked 'Preset'. This is what I was referring to.

Different tack. I get the impression we're talking about two different things.

Roy, are you talking about saving an 'Additonal External Editor' preset, in the Preferences 'External Editing' tab? I think the other responders are talking about 'Develop Presets' instead.

If so, I'm not sure where those External Editor presets are stored, but you should be able to access it from the preferences menu, and apply it thru the 'Edit In....' drop down context menu.

Edit: that preset is stored here on XP

x:\Documents and Settings\username\Application Data\Adobe\Lightroom\External Editor Presets

Note that some of that folder tree is 'hidden' by default in Windows. Unhide it at Control Panel > Folder Options > View tab > check 'Show hidden folders/files' radio button.

Ironically, Brad, we are talking about the same thing - but what I want to do may not be possible. I have created the necessary External Editor preset (and I've found it in the path you supplied) but what I want to do it to save it as a Develop Preset. I thought I could do that via the drop down list that I described to Denis above. Is this not possible? It is isn't, I could use the Edit in External Editor function or, alternatively, select the action in the After Export box in the Export Dialogue box. Would this be the best/simplest way to go?
 
See the comment below.

Denis - in the Preferences dialogue box (External Editing tab), there is a drop down list just below 'Additional External Editor' marked 'Preset'. This is what I was referring to.

Reply from Denis: I believe this is to set a preset of the choices you have made to send the file from LR to the additional external editor. Not for LR to execute the edits you have performed in the PS droplet. Hopes this helps.

Ironically, Brad, we are talking about the same thing - but what I want to do may not be possible. I have created the necessary External Editor preset (and I've found it in the path you supplied) but what I want to do it to save it as a Develop Preset. I thought I could do that via the drop down list that I described to Denis above. Is this not possible? It is isn't, I could use the Edit in External Editor function or, alternatively, select the action in the After Export box in the Export Dialogue box. Would this be the best/simplest way to go?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top