• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • Stop struggling with Lightroom! There's no need to spend hours hunting for the answers to your Lightroom Classic questions. All the information you need is in Adobe Lightroom Classic - The Missing FAQ!

    To help you get started, there's a series of easy tutorials to guide you through a simple workflow. As you grow in confidence, the book switches to a conversational FAQ format, so you can quickly find answers to advanced questions. And better still, the eBooks are updated for every release, so it's always up to date.

Catalogs Cannot Open Catalog - Preview Cache Path Too Long

Andrewjmarino

New Member
Joined
Nov 26, 2014
Messages
10
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Operating System: Windows 10
Exact Lightroom Version (Help menu > System Info): Lightroom Classic CC 7.0

I just backed up my laptop to 2 external drives and was randomly checking some files/folders to make sure everything copied over to the external drives. I came across this problem on both drives:

Lightroom cannot create or open a catalog named "Andrew Lightroom Catalog-2 on volume "Seagate Backup Plus Drive Red" because the preview cache paths would exceed the maximum path length for your platform.
The full catalog path including catalog names and separators cannot exceed 170 characters in length. The path provided is 178 characters.

See attachment. I suspect it is because of the super long name that Seagate names the backup, but I am not entirely sure. The catalog opens ok from my laptop.

How do I safely correct this without losing my catalog, catalog backups and having no problems in the future with backups to external drives or downloading the catalog to new laptop?

Thank you and Happy Holidays to anyone who is reading this.

Andrew
 

Attachments

Les Bessant

New Member
Joined
Oct 21, 2007
Messages
12
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
I don't think that's an actual problem - if you needed to restore your catalog from the backup, you'd copy it to the original location rather than trying to open it from the backup drive. That path name would upset a lot of things if you tried to work from it.

If in doubt, do a test - create a temporary folder on your C: drive (or wherever you have your live catalog, and copy the files from your backup. Then open the restored backup in LR.
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
16,231
Location
Houston, TX USA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
Long path names are indeed a problem in Windows environments/ However that value IIRC is closer to 255 chars and not 171. I suggest that you do as others have suggested and copy the restores catalog file and any previews folder to a location closer to "C:\" And in the future stick with short folder and file names. One more reason why organizing by descriptive folders is not a very good idea.
 

PhilBurton

Lightroom enthusiast (but still learning)
Premium Classic Member
Premium Cloud Member
Joined
Nov 16, 2015
Messages
2,167
Location
California, USA
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic
Long path names are indeed a problem in Windows environments/ However that value IIRC is closer to 255 chars and not 171. I suggest that you do as others have suggested and copy the restores catalog file and any previews folder to a location closer to "C:\" And in the future stick with short folder and file names. One more reason why organizing by descriptive folders is not a very good idea.
The limit is indeed 255 characters total, and that applies to the deepest subfolder for that catalog file.

Yet another reason that long folder names that describe the subject are not a good idea.

Phil
 

Andrewjmarino

New Member
Joined
Nov 26, 2014
Messages
10
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Thanks for the replies. Ok, so if I understand correctly I don't need to really do anything. It's just my backup catalog. I would never open/use it as my primary catalog. And, if I do switch to a new computer then I can just copy the catalog file and backup folders to the new laptop.
In the future, though, I will probably look at simplifying my file/folder names. I'm also not sure why Seagate gives such a long, convoluted default naming structure.

Happy New Year
Andrew
 

PhilBurton

Lightroom enthusiast (but still learning)
Premium Classic Member
Premium Cloud Member
Joined
Nov 16, 2015
Messages
2,167
Location
California, USA
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic
Thanks for the replies. Ok, so if I understand correctly I don't need to really do anything. It's just my backup catalog. I would never open/use it as my primary catalog. And, if I do switch to a new computer then I can just copy the catalog file and backup folders to the new laptop.
In the future, though, I will probably look at simplifying my file/folder names. I'm also not sure why Seagate gives such a long, convoluted default naming structure.

Happy New Year
Andrew
Andrew,

You should resolve this issue now, before you have to do so urgently. Indeed, Seagate has caused this problem. They should know better.
 

Roelof Moorlag

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2013
Messages
1,323
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Classic
Ok, so if I understand correctly I don't need to really do anything. It's just my backup catalog
No, this is not correct. Making a backup is not enough, you have to test it one in a while to be prepared for an disaster.
 

Kevin Howlett

New Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2018
Messages
1
Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Lightroom Version
1.x
I usually solve this with programs like Long Path Tool or similar.
 
Last edited:
Top