Catalogs Cannot open backed up ircat file

JoeWilson

New Member
Joined
May 26, 2018
Messages
7
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
CC Cloud
#1
Lightroom Version
CC 2015.7 (Desktop version)
Operating System
Windows 10
Today I inadvertently deleted my catalog file. I then emptied Recycle-Bin!?! I have a backup of a backup, dated 3-16-18, on a NAS drive. After moving the empty Ircat file to a temp folder, I copied the Ircat backup file to the Lightroom folder in Pictures. When I try to open it: “…cannot be opened because it is not valid…. The catalog is not recognized as a valid catalog.” I fear that years of work is down the tubes. Am I right?
I always have “Test integrity before backing up” checked.

V: CC 2015.7 (Desktop version)
Win 10

Thanks
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2013
Messages
934
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Classic 7
#2
Is that backup perhaps a backup made by Lightroom at closing?
First, this is a zipped file, you have to unzip it first before Lightroom can open it.
Second, recent versions of Lightroom do corrupt the backup... Don't you have an older copy?
Third, don't you have regular backups of your catalog (and photo's)?
 

Jim Wilde

Lightroom Guru
Staff member
Moderator
Lightroom Guru
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
11,110
Location
West Sussex, UK
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic 8
#3
Second, recent versions of Lightroom do corrupt the backup...
I believe that backup corruption was introduced in LR Classic, I don't think it was doing it back in CC2015.7.
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2013
Messages
934
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Classic 7
#5
I believe that backup corruption was introduced in LR Classic, I don't think it was doing it back in CC2015.7.
Of course you're right but people do not always mention correct what version they use.
 

JoeWilson

New Member
Joined
May 26, 2018
Messages
7
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
CC Cloud
#6
Roelof, all of the backups were made by LR at closing. Most of the ones that I can find were copied and pasted to a NAS drive or to an external drive. I have tried every one that I can locate to no avail. I usually let LR back up at closing. Unfortunately, by default LR backs up to a subfolder under Lightroom, unless directed to another location. So I have been in the habit of copying the backups to other drives. But none will work.
LR_ScreenShot.JPG
LR_VersionScreenShot.JPG


Victoria, I will try to send you a sampling of my ircat files. Thank you very much.
 

JoeWilson

New Member
Joined
May 26, 2018
Messages
7
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
CC Cloud
#7
I forgot to mention that all of my image files are backed up to numerous devices. At least I have created a good file structure!
 

clee01l

Senior Member
Staff member
Moderator
Lightroom Guru
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
13,996
Location
Bellaire, TX USA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Classic 7
#9
Victoria, I will try to send you a sampling of my ircat files. Thank you very much.
. The error message says that the file is not writable. This sounds like a permissions problem Either the "lrcat" file is set to read only or the folder that it is located in is read only. Check your permissions If you can write to the file and the folder, you may find that you do not have a problem.
 

JoeWilson

New Member
Joined
May 26, 2018
Messages
7
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
CC Cloud
#10
Thank you Cletus. I will investigate this in the morning. I hope you are right.
On another note, I remembered that I have LR (same version) on another computer. My last import on the old computer was 11/20/16. The file structure is identical: I sink the "Pictures" folder on my D drives, and also to other external drives, using Folder Match. I would lose a lot of organizing ; collection sets, edits, key words, etc., but this would be way better than starting from scratch.
 

Hal P Anderson

Senior Member
Staff member
Moderator
Lightroom Guru
Joined
May 12, 2011
Messages
2,779
Location
Canada
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic 7
#11
Joe,
I think I know what you might be doing wrong. When you unzip the Lightroom catalogue, you must copy it out of the opened ZIP file to an ordinary folder. When you open the ZIP file in Windows Explorer, it looks like an ordinary folder, but it really isn't. Drag the .LRCAT file to someplace else and double-click on it and see if that works.
 

JoeWilson

New Member
Joined
May 26, 2018
Messages
7
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
CC Cloud
#12
Thank you Hal! I drug the file from a folder on a NAS onto my desktop and Bingo!, LR launched with my catalog intact. Should I put the file in the LR folder, or will LR take care of that for me when I close?

I have a couple of questions for anyone. When you close LR, do you back-up to the default location, or do you BU to another drive? Seems nuts to BU to same drive, even same folder. If you use the default BU location, I assume you then copy to other drives, or the cloud.
Also, how do I change the name of a library? From within LR, or simply change name in file explorer and open it?

Thanks again for your help! I feel like a heavy load has been lifted from my shoulders. And my wife thanks you too!
 

Hal P Anderson

Senior Member
Staff member
Moderator
Lightroom Guru
Joined
May 12, 2011
Messages
2,779
Location
Canada
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic 7
#13
Yes, you'll need to move the file to your Lightroom catalogue folder to replace the one you inadvertently deleted.

Personally, I have LR back up to a different drive. There's a button on the backup dialogue that lets you choose a new location.

To change the name of the library, you change it using Windows Explorer. You need to change the .lrcat file and the preview folder (and the smart preview folder, if you have one) all to match.
 

Roelof Moorlag

Active Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2013
Messages
934
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Classic 7
#15
Personally, I have LR back up to a different drive. There's a button on the backup dialogue that lets you choose a new location.
And Lightroom wil remember it for the next time!

To change the name of the library, you change it using Windows Explorer. You need to change the .lrcat file and the preview folder (and the smart preview folder, if you have one) all to match.
To rule out typo's i would rename the .lrcat file and than copy the namepart (for the period) and past that when renaming the preview folder (the part in front of .lrdata)
 

Roelof Moorlag

Active Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2013
Messages
934
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Classic 7
#16
I drug the file from a folder on a NAS onto my desktop and Bingo!
Indeed, default the catalog can not be used when it is on the NAS (zipped or unzipped) so moving it to a local drive was the trigger.
 
Top