• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • Stop struggling with Lightroom! There's no need to spend hours hunting for the answers to your Lightroom 6 questions. All the information you need is in Adobe Lightroom 6 - The Missing FAQ!

    To help you get started, there's a series of easy tutorials to guide you through a simple workflow. As you grow in confidence, the book switches to a conversational FAQ format, so you can quickly find answers to advanced questions. When you upgrade to subscription, there's also a Lightroom Classic version available.

[BUG] Folder name not updated in Grid View after moving image

Joined
Jun 12, 2008
Messages
206
Location
Samoreau, France
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Classic
Hi,

Here's how to reproduce (Library module):

1. Change the View Options if necessary in order to add the folder name to the thumbnail in Grid View.
2. Drag and Drop an image to another folder.
3. Select the target folder.
4. The thumbnail of the newly added image still displays the folder name of the source folder.

However, in Loupe mode, the folder name is correct and the metadata panel also displays the correct folder name in both cases.

To fix the problem :

- Relaunch LR
- or Temporarily switch to the Develop module
- or Temporarily change the image rating

Reported 7 months ago on the Adobe feedback forum and still waiting for a fix.
 
Joined
Sep 23, 2014
Messages
1,882
Location
Waltham MA
Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Lightroom Version
Samoreen,

If I had to guess, you will likely be waiting a long time for this fix. This is a rather special case, and the focus of Adobe as a digital asset manager is to use the database based catalog and not the file system as the organization tool. The result of this focus is this will likely be given a very low priority and will then only be addressed toward the end of a release if considered low risk.

In addition, this is a community forum and not supported or endorsed by Adobe in anyway.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
11,466
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Agreed. This is just a cosmetic problem, so I wouldn't be surprised if it never gets fixed. There are bigger issues in Lightroom, some exist since version 1.
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2008
Messages
206
Location
Samoreau, France
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Classic
This is a rather special case, and the focus of Adobe as a digital asset manager is to use the database based catalog and not the file system as the organization tool.

There's a misunderstanding here. In step #2 I didn't use the OS tools. I dragged and dropped from LR grid view. Did you try ?

In addition, this is a community forum and not supported or endorsed by Adobe in anyway.

So what ? I'm just reporting a problem and possible workarounds for those who might be annoyed by this bug.
 
Joined
Sep 23, 2014
Messages
1,882
Location
Waltham MA
Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Lightroom Version
Samoreen,

There's a misunderstanding here. In step #2 I didn't use the OS tools. I dragged and dropped from LR grid view. Did you try ?

I did not misunderstand. You are moving files for organizational reasons and implying some form of meta-data on the images based on folder names. Lr is not geared toward using the folder system as a metadata organizational tool. Yes they support it; more to keep locations in sync, then as a management tool. However, that is not the focus of the application.

So what ? I'm just reporting a problem and possible workarounds for those who might be annoyed by this bug.

Sorry, I miss understood the context of your post.
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2008
Messages
206
Location
Samoreau, France
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Classic
I did not misunderstand. You are moving files for organizational reasons and implying some form of meta-data on the images based on folder names. Lr is not geared toward using the folder system as a metadata organizational tool.

Ahem, so why is the folder name updated in the metadata panel (therefore metadata are correctly handled during this operation) and in the Loupe view (display correctly refreshed)? So your comments are not relevant, I think. It's just a bug in the UI which has nothing to do with the LR organizational model.
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
18,367
Location
Houston, TX USA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
Ahem, so why is the folder name updated in the metadata panel (therefore metadata are correctly handled during this operation) and in the Loupe view (display correctly refreshed)? So your comments are not relevant, I think. It's just a bug in the UI which has nothing to do with the LR organizational model.
Yes, I can duplicate the bug in OS X too. The Info Data is not getting updated in the Grid view. I agree that this is a cosmetic bug and one not encountered by many. You can select the image and switch to Loupe view. If the loupe information is set to show Folder, it shows the correct folder. If you switch back to Grid view the info still shows the old folder listing. If in grid view you change that info field to another type (like filename) and then change it back to folder, the field correctly updates.
It is a trivial coding error, but easy to overlook unless tested specifically to identify.

If you will provide a link to the issue on the Adobe forum, I will comment on you issue and confirm that it is apparent on OS X too.
 
Joined
Sep 23, 2014
Messages
1,882
Location
Waltham MA
Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Lightroom Version
Ahem, so why is the folder name updated in the metadata panel (therefore metadata are correctly handled during this operation) and in the Loupe view (display correctly refreshed)? So your comments are not relevant, I think. It's just a bug in the UI which has nothing to do with the LR organizational model.

You are missing my point. It is a small cosmetic bug, which likely only occurs when you use Lr in a way for which it was not intended.
As such, these types of issues are usually given a low priority to fix; further they generally are only fixed when the risk of causing additional errors is very low.
The result, is considering the number of other issues documented in Lr, I would not hold out much hope that it would be addressed anytime soon.
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2008
Messages
206
Location
Samoreau, France
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Classic
Joined
Jun 12, 2008
Messages
206
Location
Samoreau, France
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Classic
It is a small cosmetic bug, which likely only occurs when you use Lr in a way for which it was not intended.

? ? ? Which way is not intended ? I'm selecting a valid View option for the Grid and I'm moving an image from a folder to another using a perfectly documented method. What is wrong with this ?
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
11,466
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Gentlemen, why wage a verbal war over this? This is a small cosmetic problem, that most likely will not get fixed, and if it annoys anyone he/she now knows a workaround to fix it.
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2008
Messages
206
Location
Samoreau, France
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Classic
It is a small cosmetic bug...The result, is considering the number of other issues documented in Lr, I would not hold out much hope that it would be addressed anytime soon.

Correct. "Minor" bugs are almost never fixed in Adobe products. I can list some bugs reported since LR version 1 that are still there and that will probably never be fixed. I name these "permanent bugs". Some people seem to consider this as normal business. As a former software engineer and developer and software editor, I consider this a very bad strategy. All these minor and cosmetic problems are accumulating with years and nobody at Adobe seem to care about this. What about the users who can adapt to such issues but will eventually become upset because of this problem accumulation which demonstrate that Adobe are no longer caring very much about quality. At one moment, they could consider that enough is enough. Maybe they will start looking elsewhere. New products are appearing and they are good. Adobe should be cautious...
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2008
Messages
206
Location
Samoreau, France
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Classic
Johan,

Gentlemen, why wage a verbal war over this?

I'm just questioning a dubious statement . This bug doesn't appear because Lightroom is used in an unintended way. If so, tspear should explain, I'm curious.
 
Joined
Sep 23, 2014
Messages
1,882
Location
Waltham MA
Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Lightroom Version
Johan,
I'm just questioning a dubious statement . This bug doesn't appear because Lightroom is used in an unintended way. If so, tspear should explain, I'm curious.

Why did you move the image from one folder to another?
If the answer was anything other then managing disk space requirements or folder consolidation related to disk space requirements, you are not using Lr as intended. Folders that provide any meta-data description of the image are not how the application is designed. Adobe does offer some amount of support for using folders to provide meta-data; however Lr is geared to you entering all meta-data in Keywords, IPTC fields and other tools directly related to the image.
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
18,367
Location
Houston, TX USA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
Why did you move the image from one folder to another?
If the answer was anything other then managing disk space requirements or folder consolidation related to disk space requirements, you are not using Lr as intended. Folders that provide any meta-data description of the image are not how the application is designed. Adobe does offer some amount of support for using folders to provide meta-data; however Lr is geared to you entering all meta-data in Keywords, IPTC fields and other tools directly related to the image.
It is a bug. And should be recognized as such. LR permits you to show Folder info on the grid view and LR Permits you to move images to different folder. You may not consider either of these and intended functions of LR. They are not a standard practice and I for one don't commonly show the Folder name on the Grid Info. There are occasions when I move images to different folders, not for organization but for housekeeping. LR should always respond with the correct information. That it does not is a bug. Whether it is worthy of fixing remains to be seen.

This is not the thread to be criticizing someone for their workflow methods.
 
Joined
Sep 23, 2014
Messages
1,882
Location
Waltham MA
Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Lightroom Version
Cletus,

Not my intent to critique anyone's workflow. Especially since mine is still based on folders (I have yet to make the change to keywords, but I am halfway through 2015 so I am catching up). My point was to cover why such a bug will be given a low priority at Adobe, and the likely result of that priority.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
11,466
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
I think this bug will be getting very low priority because it's only cosmetic, not because of the intended workflow. There is no 'do you use Lightroom the correct way?' philosophy behind fixing bugs. The only thing that matters is how severe they are.
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2008
Messages
206
Location
Samoreau, France
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Classic
Why did you move the image from one folder to another? If the answer was anything other then managing disk space requirements or folder consolidation related to disk space requirements, you are not using Lr as intended.

You are certainly aware that this statement just doesn't make sense. If I have 2 folders named Paris and Berlin and if a photo taken in Paris is mistakenly stored in the Berlin folder, I will (and you will) certainly move it. Period.

Now about the bug priority problem. As mentioned above, I have been engineering, developing and selling software during many years. And sometimes very complex software. My opinion is that if you have enough resources in the development/maintenance team, there should be no idea of "minor" bug. A bug is a bug and should be spotted and fixed. Why ? Because a minor bug can be (is often) a symptom of a much more severe problem that remains hidden and that will sooner or later have unexpected consequences. The more you wait to fix such things, the more difficult it is to reorganize the code that generates them. For example, there are many "minor" or "cosmetic" bugs in LR indicating that there is a more general problem with the UI, especially in Grid View mode (view not refreshed properly in many cases). Any experienced software developer/designer can understand that if he/she pays enough attention to what's happening in the UI when using the software.

I understand that a small team with limited resources focuses on what appears to be more urgent. But in a software shop like Adobe, who is making huge profits and is able to mobilize many development resources, the policy should be to investigate and fix each reported and acknowledged problem. Not doing so implies a loss of quality, which is exactly what we are observing since 2 or 3 years at Adobe. Remember that the CC subscription was advertised as a way to get the software maintained on a more frequent basis and to get fixes more quickly. What is happening is exactly the opposite.
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
18,367
Location
Houston, TX USA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
...I understand that a small team with limited resources focuses on what appears to be more urgent. But in a software shop like Adobe, who is making huge profits and is able to mobilize many development resources, the policy should be to investigate and fix each reported and acknowledged problem. Not doing so implies a loss of quality, which is exactly what we are observing since 2 or 3 years at Adobe. Remember that the CC subscription was advertised as a way to get the software maintained on a more frequent basis and to get fixes more quickly. What is happening is exactly the opposite.
I think you have summarized the situation at Adobe just as I see it. The assumption that you make is that the development team for LR is relatively large. I doubt that there are more than 15 developers actually working on LR code. Focus has been on LR mobile and improving other code modules in LR has not had a priority. This bug has probably been present since LR4 or before.
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2008
Messages
206
Location
Samoreau, France
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Classic
The assumption that you make is that the development team for LR is relatively large.

Actually, I think that it could be larger, given the level of their profits. That's the problem. They don't seem to understand that investing in resources dedicated to maintenance and customer satisfaction is more profitable on the long term than paying people to post robotized answers to bug reports.
 

rob211

Senior Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2014
Messages
1,123
Location
Walnut Creek, CA USA
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Why did you move the image from one folder to another?
Folders that provide any meta-data description of the image are not how the application is designed. Adobe does offer some amount of support for using folders to provide meta-data; however Lr is geared to you entering all meta-data in Keywords, IPTC fields and other tools directly related to the image.
I appreciate what you're getting at, but some of us do need to mess with Folders in the filesystem and with Lr as a means of organizing, even if we prefer keywords, collections, etc. Just one of many examples I encounter is where someone wants their photos dellivered to them in a certain folder structure since they don't use Lr.

And I actually wish you were right about Adobe's priority being keywords and such.... But it's obviously NOT their priority since they have yet to introduce keywording to their Lr Mobile app. Sigh.
 

PhilBurton

Lightroom enthusiast (but still learning)
Premium Classic Member
Joined
Nov 16, 2015
Messages
2,578
Location
California, USA
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic
Actually, I think that it could be larger, given the level of their profits. That's the problem. They don't seem to understand that investing in resources dedicated to maintenance and customer satisfaction is more profitable on the long term than paying people to post robotized answers to bug reports.
Samoreen and everyone else,

"Release planning" is a complex subject. How many new features, how many bug fixes, what is the target date, how big is the team, is any coordination with other Adobe products required? Usually bugs are judged by their impact, not how long they have existed. So if a particular bug has existed for 2-3 releases, that is not necessarily a sign of Adobe not caring. (I can't believe it! :eek: I'm justifying Adobe's decisions. o_O Someone come quick and do an intervention. :confused:
 
Joined
Sep 23, 2014
Messages
1,882
Location
Waltham MA
Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Lightroom Version
Samoreen and everyone else,

"Release planning" is a complex subject. How many new features, how many bug fixes, what is the target date, how big is the team, is any coordination with other Adobe products required? Usually bugs are judged by their impact, not how long they have existed. So if a particular bug has existed for 2-3 releases, that is not necessarily a sign of Adobe not caring. (I can't believe it! :eek: I'm justifying Adobe's decisions. o_O Someone come quick and do an intervention. :confused:

It just means something else was given a higher priority. Another bug, another feature, a new marketing concept (e.g. change UI without functional changes), refactor another part of the system....
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2008
Messages
206
Location
Samoreau, France
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Classic
It just means something else was given a higher priority. Another bug, another feature, a new marketing concept (e.g. change UI without functional changes), refactor another part of the system....

Yes. But what is wrong with this "highest priority - first out" approach is that bugs considered as minor have no chance to ever be fixed. I always advocated a double "top down - bottom up" approach : a part of the team handles the most urgent problems while the other works on the oldest. Yes, this implies adding some resources to the maintenance team - although I'm not absolutely sure that this would be necessary - but that's exactly what we are expecting from a company making so huge profits and who has made so many promises when enforcing the CC subscription model.
 
Top