Bring forward my Backup

Joined
Aug 15, 2018
Messages
11
Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Lightroom Version
6.x / CC 2015.x
#1
Lightroom Version
Lightroom 6 standalone
Operating System
Windows 10
Hello again friends.
Earlier today I did some work in Lr. When I exited, I backed up my work. I reentered Lr and tried to move some Images around. Somehow Lr gave me a prompt that I should be working in xxx Catalog. I went along with it ..it took me to an earlier Catalog. I know this because the images I’ve been working on for the past two days were not there. I immediately exited and skipped the Back up option.

Now I am here. How do I get Lr to bring back the Catalog that I backed up this afternoon that had the images I ke been working on over the past two days....I am a beginner...I have Lr 6, the standalone version. My computer has Windows 10 home edition.
Thank you for your patience....
 

Roelof Moorlag

Active Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2013
Messages
928
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Classic 7
#2
First, your images are not 'in' Lightroom so they will be save.
Second, do you know where your catalog supposed to be? You could navigate to that location and start lightroom by doubleclicking the .lrcat file
Normally you don't have to restore a backup for this but when the catalog is not there or corrupt it will be the next step.
 
Joined
Aug 15, 2018
Messages
11
Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Lightroom Version
6.x / CC 2015.x
#3
First, your images are not 'in' Lightroom so they will be save.
Second, do you know where your catalog supposed to be? You could navigate to that location and start lightroom by doubleclicking the .lrcat file
Normally you don't have to restore a backup for this but when the catalog is not there or corrupt it will be the next step.
How could I begin to navigate to the location? Right now I am not sure I know where the Catalog could be. Thank you for your patience.
 

JohanElzenga

Lightroom Guru
Staff member
Moderator
Lightroom Guru
Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
7,840
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Classic 7
#4
It would be nice to know what that message really said, because I have never seen a message where Lightroom tells you that you should use a different catalog unless the catalog it tried to open is corrupted...

The default location of your catalog folder is inside your Pictures folder. The catalog file has the .lrcat extension, so look for files with that extension.
 

PhilBurton

Senior Member
Joined
Nov 16, 2015
Messages
1,463
Location
California, USA
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic 7
#5
How could I begin to navigate to the location? Right now I am not sure I know where the Catalog could be. Thank you for your patience.
If you can't find that folder, just do a search. If you are on Windows, open up the C: drive icon and type in "lrcat" in the search box at the top right of the window showing the folders in C:. If you are using a Mac, sorry I can't help.
 
Joined
Aug 15, 2018
Messages
11
Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Lightroom Version
6.x / CC 2015.x
#6
Hurrah!!! Found it!.....Thank you Roelaf, Johan, and Phil.
 
Top