• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • Are you using the cloud-based Lightroom apps for Windows, Mac, iOS, Android, Apple TV and Web? Then you'll love my new book, Adobe Lightroom - Edit Like a Pro!

    You'll learn how to use the Lightroom cloud ecosystem to organize, edit and share your photos. You'll also come to understand the thought processes used by professional photographers when they're editing their own photos, so you can transform your photos quickly and easily. And better still, the eBooks are updated for every release, so it's always up to date.

Both versions of new LR question

Photofan

Member
Joined
Nov 12, 2010
Messages
49
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Operating System: Mac - High Sierra
Exact Lightroom Version (Help menu > System Info): Lightroom Classic CC

I have just had a major problem with my MAC machine and have lost the last month's worth of Lightroom editing on two recent weddings (sadly my fault - last back up was mid Oct)

I was just wondering if I install both versions of the new LR, (I think this is possible on the $9.99 subscription?) - would I be able to do my current work on the CC version and , if I understand it correctly this would be saved in my 20GB of free cloud space? - which would be accessible on all my machines?

After the editing is complete for each wedding - could I then remove it from the cloud and convert it to a LR CC Classic catalogue?

Thanks for your help
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
10,093
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Yes, but you have to be careful how you do things. It means you always have to use the new Lightroom CC to import the images, not Lightroom Classic. And be aware that certain things (keywords) do not sync.

You don't have to convert anything (and you can't). Just enable sync in your Lightroom Classic catalog. Your originals will download from the cloud into Lightroom Classic, and deleting them from the cloud after they've been downloaded will only 'unsync' them in Classic (i.e. remove them from the synched collection). The originals will remain.
 
Top