• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • Stop struggling with Lightroom! There's no need to spend hours hunting for the answers to your Lightroom Classic questions. All the information you need is in Adobe Lightroom Classic - The Missing FAQ!

    To help you get started, there's a series of easy tutorials to guide you through a simple workflow. As you grow in confidence, the book switches to a conversational FAQ format, so you can quickly find answers to advanced questions. And better still, the eBooks are updated for every release, so it's always up to date.
  • It's Lightroom update time again! There's new Presets in all versions, Super Resolution on the desktop, new Sharing options and more. See this blog post for Lightroom Classic and this blog post for the Lightroom Cloud Ecosystem changes.

blurred images on #2 monitor with latest Lightroom classic...

Morris Taub

New Member
Joined
May 17, 2016
Messages
6
Location
France
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Lightroom Version
10.2
Operating System
  1. macOS 10.15 Catalina
Perhaps this is a known issue?

I have two monitors connected to my macbook pro. One via hdmi. Two via thunderbolt. When I open Lightroom my library window is on monitor One. That image is always sharp. On monitor Two it's sharp until I hit 'develop' module. Then that image on monitor Two blurs. I noticed if I click on Library again monitor Two sharpens up again. But in develop if say i tap on clarity, exposure, contrast, texture, etc. it blurs again.

I've tried it with graphics acceleration on and off and it's the same.

And dang, I thought adobe had fixed the acceleration issue. Now it's worse. Before I just turned it completely off and lightroom was working great. Maybe I should go back a version? Can I do that? This blurring of the images on monitor Two never happened before.

Also, monitor Two is a more recent 27" nec that i use for print color and processing work. The monitor with my library on it, monitor One, is like 11 years old, another nec and still works fine for the library and all the controls in develop and print modules.

If it matters, my laptop is a 2015 mid-summer model. macOS is Catalina 10.15.7. 16gb of ram. Two graphics cards. 1. amd radeon r9m370x with 2 gb of video ram. 2. The intel iris pro 1536 mb.

thanks for any advice/help
Morris
 

Morris Taub

New Member
Joined
May 17, 2016
Messages
6
Location
France
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
update:

I got frustrated, so I downloaded 10.1.1. Now it is working normally again. Now the images on monitor 2, my PA271Q are sharp. They never sharpened up using Lightroom 10.2

I did become afraid that maybe something was wrong with one of my ports or the processor, but it's not that. It's lightroom 10.2 as far as I can tell. At least on my machine and setup.

And for what it's worth, my laptop is a 2.5 ghz quad core intel core i7.

I will use this 10.1.1 version for a few days and report back. But right now it is working perfectly again. Oh, and I don't have the performance, graphics processor working. I kept that shut off.
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
22,896
Location
Isle of Wight, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service

Morris Taub

New Member
Joined
May 17, 2016
Messages
6
Location
France
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Hi, Victoria. I did post this same text/post on the 'feedback forum'. I'm not sure if there's something else to do.

And since Saturday, when I switched my LR classic back to 10.1.1 I have not had any problems. I won't updgrade again until maybe a 10.3 is available.

Like I said, my first monitor, attached via hdmi is always sharp. It's monitor two that gets blurred out. It's a direct attachment via thunderbolt to my laptop. Not sure why. And honest, I'm happy to have recourse to an older version of Lightroom Classic that works. I don't want to waste my time trouble shooting. It all works as advertised with the older version of LrC. So I am assuming it's not my installation.

thanks
Morris
 
Joined
Dec 19, 2016
Messages
5
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
I am having exactly the same problem. It started happening just after the most recent Lightroom Classic upgrade. I have a 2018 MacBook Pro, 2.9 GHz 6 core Intel Core i9, 32 GB memory, 2 TB ssd, Radeon Pro 560X 4GB. Second monitor is a BenQ SW2700. Running Lightroom Classic version 10.2.

I use my MacBook as my primary Lightroom monitor. I use the BenQ window as my auxiliary. When I am in Library mode, images on the BenQ are sharp. When I click into Develop mode the images are fuzzy, particularly when I go to 100% image. This never happened before. Like Mr. Taub, I have tried turning off graphics acceleration and the issue does not change. This is very disappointing.

I have not downgraded yet. I have adapted my workflow for now but if this is not addressed quickly, I will need to downgrade.
 
Joined
Nov 5, 2017
Messages
1,186
Location
UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Classic

Morris Taub

New Member
Joined
May 17, 2016
Messages
6
Location
France
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Sadly, this problem has not been addressed in 10.3 so I'll be downgrading to 10.1.1 again.

At some point I have to wonder if I should ask for a refund by the month for not being able to use 10.2 and now 10.3. This dual monitor set up is great when it works. I bought a second large monitor just for this. Ok. I'm not really expecting any refund from adobe. Just wish they'd fix it.
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
22,896
Location
Isle of Wight, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
Yeah, it's a frustrating one. I've just updated our 10.3 blog post to note that one as not fixed.
 

Woodbutcher

Active Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2015
Messages
191
Location
Austin, TX
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic
I had time to spare so I played around on my system. 11.3 Big Sur, 10.3 Lightroom Classic, 2019 MBpro 16 inch. 2.4GHz i9, AMD Radeon Pro 550M 4 GB. Internal display native resolution as display 2, 2k HDMI display as #1, and 4k thunderbolt to displayport 1.2 as display #3.

I sometimes run the 4k at 2k so I can read the font in the LRc gui. But it didn't make any difference. With LRC main window on the 4k monitor and Loupe mode on the 2k, I can replicate your problem. However, I seldom work with LRC in two screen mode. I save the second screen for when Photoshop or another plugin launches.
 
Top