• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • The August 2019 Lightroom updates are now available. Lightroom Classic includes advanced GPU support, batch HDR/pano merge and more. Lightroom (cloud-based service) has deleted photos on the desktop/mobile apps, as well as video support and batch metadata editing on Android. The Missing FAQ and Edit Like a Pro eBooks are already updated for the changes.
  • Stop struggling with Lightroom! There's no need to spend hours hunting for the answers to your Lightroom Classic questions. All the information you need is in Adobe Lightroom Classic - The Missing FAQ!

    To help you started, there's a series of easy tutorials to guide you through a simple workflow. As you grow in confidence, the book switches to a conversational FAQ format, so you can quickly find answers to advanced questions. And better still, the eBooks are updated for every release, so it's always up to date.

Library module Blank Entry Can't Delete

Ca.nomo.IbeIdaho

New Member
Joined
Jun 25, 2019
Messages
4
I am needing some of the Queens magic. I too have at least 50 of the "ghost" photos. They do not have metadata, and am unable to delete. I have no idea what I have done to deserve this. :}
Screen Shot 2019-06-24 at 8.22.59 PM.jpg
Help.
 

stratiformus

New Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2013
Messages
6
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Per one of my previous posts, I requested help over at Adobe. Last I heard the (about a month ago, after chasing it up) the "Engineering team are still evaluating it".
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
14,665
Location
Houston, TX USA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
I am needing some of the Queens magic. I too have at least 50 of the "ghost" photos. They do not have metadata, and am unable to delete. I have no idea what I have done to deserve this. :} View attachment 12709 Help.
I'm not clear where your screen shot was taken. The blank thumbnail suggest that the thumbnail is either missing or not rendered due to error. What happens when you click to open the image in full screen to develop? If it opens properly then we need to look closer at the reasons the thumbnail does not display. If it does not open properly, then what are the error messages displayed?
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
8,960
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Clee,
This is a known problem (see the first messages in this thread), not simply a thumbnail that isn't rendered. If you look at the top of the slide mount, you'll see that the blank thumbnail also does not display a file name, or any other info that the other thumbnails do show. That indicates that this is a false database record.
 

Ca.nomo.IbeIdaho

New Member
Joined
Jun 25, 2019
Messages
4
Clee,
This is a known problem (see the first messages in this thread), not simply a thumbnail that isn't rendered. If you look at the top of the slide mount, you'll see that the blank thumbnail also does not display a file name, or any other info that the other thumbnails do show. That indicates that this is a false database record.
Do we have any sort of fix at this point yet? Thank you
 

Ca.nomo.IbeIdaho

New Member
Joined
Jun 25, 2019
Messages
4
I'm not clear where your screen shot was taken. The blank thumbnail suggest that the thumbnail is either missing or not rendered due to error. What happens when you click to open the image in full screen to develop? If it opens properly then we need to look closer at the reasons the thumbnail does not display. If it does not open properly, then what are the error messages displayed?
Nothing happens when I attempt to open the image. Its as if there is no image actually there. No metadata etc. I have now about 60 of these that are intermixed through out my catalogue ...
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
21,658
Location
Southampton, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
No fixes yet. For an odd one, I've deleted the orphaned data directly out of the database, but my database skills are too limited to be comfortable (or efficient!) at doing it for more than one or two. This one will need to wait on the engineers.
 

Ca.nomo.IbeIdaho

New Member
Joined
Jun 25, 2019
Messages
4
No fixes yet. For an odd one, I've deleted the orphaned data directly out of the database, but my database skills are too limited to be comfortable (or efficient!) at doing it for more than one or two. This one will need to wait on the engineers.
Thank you Victoria. Here is one more thought. I've been trying to think what I have maybe done different recently and the two things are I switched from LR 6 to the subscription service and I upgraded from Luminar 2018 to Luminar 3 which has the DAM. I wonder if there is a commonality with the others who have experienced this.
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
21,658
Location
Southampton, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
I suspect it's a bug that was introduced about a year ago but takes really specific conditions to trigger it. I've suspected a glitch importing in the cases I've seen. Are these photos you've imported since moving to subscription?
 

a.heeley

New Member
Joined
Sep 9, 2019
Messages
1
I suspect it's a bug that was introduced about a year ago but takes really specific conditions to trigger it. I've suspected a glitch importing in the cases I've seen. Are these photos you've imported since moving to subscription?
Hi Victoria, would you mind sharing your database deletion technique? I have 59 that are messed up in this way - I’m happy to backup my catalog and have a go at fixing it manually.
 

stratiformus

New Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2013
Messages
6
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
The last I heard regarding my own issue was on an adobe forum : “We did get the catalog. The Engineering Team is evaluating. At this time, I am waiting for work-around/correction information.”
I’ve not heard anything now for 4 months.
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
21,658
Location
Southampton, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
If you follow the instructions at the end of that bug thread, Rikk's now got a tool to be able to fix it until they get the fix in a shipping build.
 
Top