mldiggs
Member
- Joined
- Nov 5, 2008
- Messages
- 88
Before I mess up my catalog again, I want to make sure I can do what I think I can do with no loss of processing history.
I have a November Catalog that I exported and tested after I gave up on all my old catalogs in LR1, LR2 beta, etc. that I had totally screwed up. So my November Catalog has been great: I exported it and used it just I am supposed to and had no problems.
I never deleted all the ancient catalogs and bits and pieces because I was worried that they were somehow tied virtually to my November Catalog.
Now I have exported an updated catalog called December Catalog (i was using November, made lots of changes, and thought, heck, I'll create a new catalog and clean up all that dreck from before the November catalog).
Don't worry, I won't do this every month, but this is how I'm figuring out how things work so I can just rename December "Best Catalog" and keep it named that all the time.
Here is my question: If I delete November and all the old bits and pieces now that I have a fully functional December Catalog, there should be no loss of info from that December Catalog (i.e. it is free-standing and self-sufficient). Is that right?
Then I can rename it Best Catalog and use that moniker for whatever is most up to date and recent. Right?
I just want to make sure I'm not doing something dumb when I clean house a bit.
I have a November Catalog that I exported and tested after I gave up on all my old catalogs in LR1, LR2 beta, etc. that I had totally screwed up. So my November Catalog has been great: I exported it and used it just I am supposed to and had no problems.
I never deleted all the ancient catalogs and bits and pieces because I was worried that they were somehow tied virtually to my November Catalog.
Now I have exported an updated catalog called December Catalog (i was using November, made lots of changes, and thought, heck, I'll create a new catalog and clean up all that dreck from before the November catalog).
Don't worry, I won't do this every month, but this is how I'm figuring out how things work so I can just rename December "Best Catalog" and keep it named that all the time.
Here is my question: If I delete November and all the old bits and pieces now that I have a fully functional December Catalog, there should be no loss of info from that December Catalog (i.e. it is free-standing and self-sufficient). Is that right?
Then I can rename it Best Catalog and use that moniker for whatever is most up to date and recent. Right?
I just want to make sure I'm not doing something dumb when I clean house a bit.
