• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • The November 2019 Lightroom updates are now available. Lightroom Classic includes the ability to export the same photos as multiple sizes/formats in a single export, content aware fill for panorama edges and more. It does require a catalog format upgrade and there are updated system requirements, so you may want to wait a few days before upgrading.
    Lightroom (cloud-based service) has export options (such as TIFF format, renaming and color space), custom sort order on the desktop, copy/paste to multiple photos on iOS and more.
    The Missing FAQ and Edit Like a Pro eBooks are already updated for the changes.
  • Stop struggling with Lightroom! There's no need to spend hours hunting for the answers to your Lightroom 6 questions. All the information you need is in Adobe Lightroom 6 - The Missing FAQ!

    To help you get started, there's a series of easy tutorials to guide you through a simple workflow. As you grow in confidence, the book switches to a conversational FAQ format, so you can quickly find answers to advanced questions. When you upgrade to subscription, there's also a Lightroom Classic version available.
  • Just a quick head's up - we'll be moving to a new server on Wednesday 20th November around 2:30PM GMT. There should be very little downtime, but it may take your DNS servers up to 72 hours to update (although you can clear them manually).

backups so slow W 10 laptop hibernates while still running

jjlad

Active Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2009
Messages
371
Location
Winnipeg, Canada
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
Is there a setting that will direct a Windows Laptop to keep running the backups until done? Even with older programs and computers, systems would finish started jobs then allow hibernation but current W10 system isn't doing that and sometimes when I log on and NEED to use LR right away, I can't because the backup hasn't finished.
 

Nogo

Member
Joined
Nov 28, 2013
Messages
61
Location
Mississippi
Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Lightroom Version
Go into your power settings and set it where it never goes to sleep when plugged in. You can allow the screen to turn off, this will not effect the backup. But that is not the only setting that will stop the backup. You also need to go into the advanced settings and make sure the USB ports and the hard drives are not set up to turn off too. These power settings can be utilities installed by the manufacturer of the machine so if you can't figure it out, you may need to check with the support forums for your particular machine.
 

PhilBurton

Lightroom enthusiast (but still learning)
Premium Classic Member
Premium Cloud Member
Joined
Nov 16, 2015
Messages
1,848
Location
California, USA
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic
Go into your power settings and set it where it never goes to sleep when plugged in. You can allow the screen to turn off, this will not effect the backup. But that is not the only setting that will stop the backup. You also need to go into the advanced settings and make sure the USB ports and the hard drives are not set up to turn off too. These power settings can be utilities installed by the manufacturer of the machine so if you can't figure it out, you may need to check with the support forums for your particular machine.
In Windows 10, click on the Start button, then select Settings. In the Settings window, click on the System icon (top left). Then look for Power Settings.

Phil
 

Cerianthus

Active Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2014
Messages
236
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
6.x
But returning to the original question, it is strange that it will stop backing up and hibernate. So The time to hibernate is from the last mouse or keyboard action and not from the last computer activity like you would expect.


Verzonden vanaf mijn iPhone met Tapatalk
 

jjlad

Active Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2009
Messages
371
Location
Winnipeg, Canada
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
Right. Previous W lap and desktops I had would stay awake as long as a job was running. I'm sure they wouldn't have dropped that functionality so I'll try the W10 forum.
Thanks all for offering advice.
 

Gnits

Senior Member
Joined
Mar 21, 2015
Messages
1,095
Location
Dublin, Ireland.
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
I have my power settings on Windows to power off the screen after 3 mins and my system after 20. That provides ample time for my Lr backup to complete before it powers off.

I use a 3rd party backup tool to secure my catalog every morning at 6 am, so I am comfortable exiting out of Lr without a backup, most times, if I am in a hurry to do something else.

Time how long Lr takes to back up your catalog and amend your power settings to suit.
 

jjlad

Active Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2009
Messages
371
Location
Winnipeg, Canada
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
$ ll try to reply here but currently trying to run a 32 jpg pano in LR and it has my laptop at 91% of its 12 gigs of ram and my whole system is bogged down because of it.
It has been years since LR could backup my catalogue in 20 minutes. I often takes 1 hour plus. Windows File History on the other hand, updates the back ups in under 5 minutes ...including the LR catalogue.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
9,099
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
It has been years since LR could backup my catalogue in 20 minutes. I often takes 1 hour plus. Windows File History on the other hand, updates the back ups in under 5 minutes ...including the LR catalogue.
That's because Lightroom does more than just make a backup. It first verifies the integrity of the catalog, then makes the backup and then optimizes the catalog. If you turn off both extra functions (just to check, don't always turn them off) you'll see that only making a backup is quite fast.
 
Top