• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • Stop struggling with Lightroom! There's no need to spend hours hunting for the answers to your Lightroom Classic questions. All the information you need is in Adobe Lightroom Classic - The Missing FAQ!

    To help you get started, there's a series of easy tutorials to guide you through a simple workflow. As you grow in confidence, the book switches to a conversational FAQ format, so you can quickly find answers to advanced questions. And better still, the eBooks are updated for every release, so it's always up to date.
  • 18 October 2022 It's Lightroom update time again and there's a new AI-based Masking tools and a new Content-Aware Remove Healing tool, as well as smaller features, new cameras, lenses and bug fixes! See this blog post for Lightroom Classic and this blog post for the Lightroom Cloud Ecosystem changes.

Back-up Catalog - Helper.db file query

Status
Not open for further replies.

ColMac9090

Active Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2011
Messages
236
Location
Edinburgh, Scotland
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic
Lightroom Version
Classic CC 7.5
Operating System
  1. Windows 10
As far as I can see, the automated back-up system in LR Classic does not back-up this new(ish) helper.db file, nor does there seem to be a way to change settings to do so.

Am I right in thinking it is a bit like previews in that it will be re-created if needed, so there is little or no need to back it up.

I have LR set up to back up on every exit, so I do want to ensure I am including all necessary files.

Thanks

Colin
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
12,555
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Yes, AFAIK Lightroom can simply recreate that file if and when needed.
 

ColMac9090

Active Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2011
Messages
236
Location
Edinburgh, Scotland
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic
Many thanks. I did do a test before posting originally, by renaming the existing db file to db.safe and a new version was created, but obviously I've no idea what it contained. But it seems to be fine.

Thanks again
 

ColMac9090

Active Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2011
Messages
236
Location
Edinburgh, Scotland
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic
Yes thanks, I saw that in some older posts on the forum, I just wasn't sure if it would have exactly the same data in it as the deleted file. But as it re-builds it I'm not bothered .

Thnaks again
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top