automated copy folder tree to collection tree

snapper

Active Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2008
Messages
120
Location
nr. Reading
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
I have a requirement to be able to copy a folder tree to a collection tree. I know you can drag a folder to create a collection, but it doesn't recognise the subfolders in the folder.

I'm looking to move my website to one based on Photodeck - and they have a nice publish plugin - but you have to create the hierarchy of folders in the publish collection yourself. It's not too much work but it would be beter if it were automated.

My current workflow uses folders rather than collections. I ingest into them, and then sort into subfolders. I know I could manage this with keywords and Smart collections - but it's making things more complicated than necessary, and some of my events the images are already sorted into subfolders, so I just import the folder tree as is.

Rob Cole used to have a folders to collection plugin - with the source code - but searching for an archive copy brings up nothing - does anyone have this? I'd be happy to modify something that works..

Otherwise I have an example from the Adobe SDK forum Writing a plugin to create Smart Collections |Adobe Community - which creates collections and also creates smart collections. I don't want to use smart collections, but I want to see if I can modify this to create a publish collection. It's just a bit old, so may not be the most efficient example.

It also strikes me that this doesn't have to be a full blown plugin, but can be a script.
 

clee01l

Senior Member
Staff member
Moderator
Lightroom Guru
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
14,095
Location
Bellaire, TX USA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Classic 7
Jeffrey Freidl Has Collections and Folder publishers but nothing that would copy a folder structure to a collection structure. It might be scriptable. However, Folders can contain both files and subfolders. Only Collections can contain images. Collection sets can only contain other Collection sets and Collections and no images. Your script would only work IF only the lowest level sub folders could be converted to a static Collection and all parent folders were empty of image files.
 

snapper

Active Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2008
Messages
120
Location
nr. Reading
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Yep, checked Jeffery's site first for a solution :)

My currrent workflow matches the limitations you mention - and creating a collection set containing collections of images would be exactly what I want...with the ultimate aim of creating something like this in the Publish Services.

Screenshot_16_05_2016__15_40.jpg
 

tspear

Senior Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2014
Messages
1,734
Location
Waltham MA
Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Lightroom Version
Classic 7
Skip the collection, and just use Jeff's Folder publisher. It matches what you are ultimately trying to accomplish.
And this is what I still use for part of my workflow (I am slowly, emphasis on slowly) moving to collections by folder's are still my primary organization tool.
 

snapper

Active Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2008
Messages
120
Location
nr. Reading
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
@tspear - thanks - but I want to be able to create a set of collections within a publish service. I don't think Jeffery's Folder publisher will help there....it creates a copy of the folders, and the image files on disk as a new publish service. The publish service I'm aiming to use is a plugin provided to connect specifically to Photodeck and create a set of galleries.
 

clee01l

Senior Member
Staff member
Moderator
Lightroom Guru
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
14,095
Location
Bellaire, TX USA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Classic 7
I have Publishing service that I use which has similar requirements. In it, I have set up Smart Publish Collections to meet the requirements. The Publish Service Smart Collections are controlled by special internal use only keywords. All of my collections and Publish Services are Smart except for one static collection that is necessary to start my workflow. Once you start organizing inside of LR instead of the filesystem, folders become irrelevant to organization. Folder names like "On the Way", "People", "presentations", "the finish", "the start" etc. are keywords that describe the conditions about the image. The have no importance in forcing a location in a folder in the filesystem.

If you create Smart Publish Service Collections for the PhotoDeck publishing service onetime, the Publish Service will manage itself and all you need to do is assign the keywords (in less time than it takes to move images around in the filesystem).
 

snapper

Active Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2008
Messages
120
Location
nr. Reading
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
@clee01l - I think you may have misunderstood my requirement, but a single one time set of smart collections that are created by keyword will not work - partly because the collection name becomes the gallery name (and I don't think you can dynamically change the name of smart collection using a keyword). I create new galleries on a week by week or day by day basis, I rarely add to them. They have a finite lifetime and ten they disappear. It's not a portfolio site where your methodology would work.

And the publish service doesn't support the use of a smart collection - though this may be a bug, and as the publish service is open source it may be able to be changed. So while I agree that I could manage everything by keywords, I prefer to have a level of abstraction in a folder structure.
 

rob211

Senior Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2014
Messages
1,092
Location
Oakland, CA USA
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
I dunno if it will help but when I needed folder info (i.e. path) I got referred to Mr. Beardsworth's excellent script to add paths to keywords: Copy Mac Finder paths to keyword hierarchy?

It appears you wouldn't be able to use smart collections to essentially replicated the folder structure, but it might be a building block in such a workflow.

As in the case of publish collections/photosets and regular collections, the interaction between these structures isn't ideal. Let us know if you find something.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

laszlo.suto

New Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2019
Messages
1
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
CC Cloud
Hi, Snapper so far have you any solution for your problem cause I face the same issue as you had? Thanks in advance,
Laci
 

johnbeardy

Senior Member
Staff member
Moderator
Lightroom Guru
Joined
Oct 8, 2007
Messages
4,908
Location
London
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
It's now a built-in menu item - right click a folder and choose Create Collection / Set
 
Top