Okay, for the record, I love LR!
I'm improving my workflow incrementally and want to revisit the Auto write to XMP, Save Metadata to File and Update DNG Preview and Metadata commands.. from a broad view.
I am working with DNG files converted from NEF's at import. Seems to work well for me. I don't use Auto-write to XMP because I don't want to take any performance hit (though I haven't thouroughly tested if there actually would be a noticeable hit with that option checked. As a habit I try to do a Ctrl+A / Ctrl+S at the end of each session. I know I am supposed to do this to write the changes, but truth told, I don't know exactly why.
Does Auto-Write xmp do the same as the Ctrl+S command? And exactly what gets written and where? How does the Update Preview and Metadata differ?
If I were to have a total drive failure and had to restore images and catalog files from my backups, what am I potentially going to lose if I don't use the above commands?
I don't share raw images and images are viewed exclusively through LR and CS4, so it isn't important to me that previews are accurate if I open the images in a different app, but I want to safe guard my work in the event images or catalog files get lost or damaged.
I'm improving my workflow incrementally and want to revisit the Auto write to XMP, Save Metadata to File and Update DNG Preview and Metadata commands.. from a broad view.
I am working with DNG files converted from NEF's at import. Seems to work well for me. I don't use Auto-write to XMP because I don't want to take any performance hit (though I haven't thouroughly tested if there actually would be a noticeable hit with that option checked. As a habit I try to do a Ctrl+A / Ctrl+S at the end of each session. I know I am supposed to do this to write the changes, but truth told, I don't know exactly why.
Does Auto-Write xmp do the same as the Ctrl+S command? And exactly what gets written and where? How does the Update Preview and Metadata differ?
If I were to have a total drive failure and had to restore images and catalog files from my backups, what am I potentially going to lose if I don't use the above commands?
I don't share raw images and images are viewed exclusively through LR and CS4, so it isn't important to me that previews are accurate if I open the images in a different app, but I want to safe guard my work in the event images or catalog files get lost or damaged.
