• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • The November 2019 Lightroom updates are now available. Lightroom Classic includes the ability to export the same photos as multiple sizes/formats in a single export, content aware fill for panorama edges and more. It does require a catalog format upgrade and there are updated system requirements, so you may want to wait a few days before upgrading.
    Lightroom (cloud-based service) has export options (such as TIFF format, renaming and color space), custom sort order on the desktop, copy/paste to multiple photos on iOS and more.
    The Missing FAQ and Edit Like a Pro eBooks are already updated for the changes.

Aurora HDR 2018 not being opened

WesternGuy

Active Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2010
Messages
212
Location
Alberta, Canada
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic
Operating System:Windows 10 Pro
Exact Lightroom Version (Help menu > System Info):Lightroom Classic 7.0.1

I was trying to use Aurora HDR 2018 to prepare an HDR image from five images that are in Lightroom. I highlighted the five images and went to FILE > Export with Presets > Aurora 2018 > Open original images. Lightroom then went and "processed" all five images - Uploading five images to Aurora HDR 2018 - finished this task and played the "finished" sound and then nothing happened. I had expected Aurora 2018 to open ready to convert these images to an HDR image, but this did not happen. For comparison, had I chosen to use NIK/DxO HDR Efex Pro 2, then this application would have opened and prepared the HDR image, etc.

I don't know if this is a Lightroom problem or an Aurora problem, so I am posting here hoping that someone might have some insight as to what I should do to get this process to work as expected. Aurora is, presumably, supposed to work as a plug-in in both Lightroom and Photoshop, yet this behaviour would seem to contradict this.

Any insight as to how I might proceed to make this work will be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Western Guy
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
21,842
Location
Southampton, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
I think that's probably an Aurora question WesternGuy, as they created the plug-in too.
 

WesternGuy

Active Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2010
Messages
212
Location
Alberta, Canada
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic
That is what I thought also. I did send them an inquiry, but I have yet to hear from them. I was hoping that maybe, someone here had run into the same problem and had found a solution.

WesternGuy
 

Adam Krauss

New Member
Joined
Dec 5, 2017
Messages
6
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
I purchased Aurora HDR 2018 last night and installed it as a plugin for LR CC. Showed as installed. I exported with LR edits 5 bracketed images and Aurora was able to create a merged image. Did editing, hit "apply" and showed was exporting back to LR. Aurora then closed and took me to LR. I then see dialogue in LR showing it is still exporting the images to Aurora. Hmmm. That dialogue closes and I cant find my Aurora HDR image anywhere that was supposedly sent back to LR? I tired it twice with two different sets of images and same thing happened. Also shut programs down and restarted, but no luck. Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated. I am going to post this as a separate thread as well.
 

WesternGuy

Active Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2010
Messages
212
Location
Alberta, Canada
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic
Adam, thanks for your response regarding the problem with Aurora 2018. I sent an inquiry to the Aurora people, but so far, I have not had a response. I sent another request to them this morning suggesting that if they were not going to provide timely support, then maybe they should refund my purchase of Aurora 2018. Hopefully, that will elicit a response from them.

WesternGuy
 

Adam Krauss

New Member
Joined
Dec 5, 2017
Messages
6
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
Adam, thanks for your response regarding the problem with Aurora 2018. I sent an inquiry to the Aurora people, but so far, I have not had a response. I sent another request to them this morning suggesting that if they were not going to provide timely support, then maybe they should refund my purchase of Aurora 2018. Hopefully, that will elicit a response from them.

WesternGuy
Welcome. Yes, I should have researched a little before purchasing, as I am seeing a number of people indicating support from Aurora/Macphun is subpar. For the price of their software, they should be well staffed to answer inquiries.
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
21,842
Location
Southampton, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
They're a very small company, and probably just had an influx of customers thanks to Adobe's announcements, so it might take them a while to scale up their support staff. Or they might just be rubbish for support. ;)
 

Adam Krauss

New Member
Joined
Dec 5, 2017
Messages
6
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
They're a very small company, and probably just had an influx of customers thanks to Adobe's announcements, so it might take them a while to scale up their support staff. Or they might just be rubbish for support. ;)
Thanks. What announcement are you referring to? Also, last night I was able to successfully take photos from LR into Aurora, merge, export back AND find the file. Although not completely certain how I got it to work, I credit Tim Grey and his excellent tutorial on using Lightroom and Photoshop together and the preferences menu setup in LR which asks you to identify and set up a third party editing program. See video beginning at 17:10 minute mark:
However, what I now noticed, is the minimal LR edits I did before sending to Aurora do not seem to have survived the round trip, despite choosing to "Export Copy with LR edits" BTW Aurora has not gotten back to me yet.
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
21,842
Location
Southampton, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service

dcampbell52

New Member
Joined
Jul 11, 2018
Messages
1
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
I've had similar issues that started with Aurora 2018 in the last few months of that program (shortly after the previous Windows 10 upgrade). Installed the last Windows 10 upgrade hoping that would solve the issue. It didn't. Worked with Skylum on the issue with no resolution. This was after the announcement of 2019 but before the release. We went back and forth with no solution. I then installed 2019 hoping that would fix it.. Nothing.. I have removed all ad blocking software that I can find.. and no solution. So, I hope someone can find the right fix.
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2018
Messages
11
Location
Kent, UK
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
I use LR classic 7.5 with High Sierra 10.13 and use Aurora 2018 as a plugin in LR. After exporting from LR to Aurora and carrying out some adjustments, I click on 'apply', Aurora then closes down and I'm back in LR. Quite often I find that the new HDR doesn't always appear in LR unless LR is closed down and re-opened, then the HDR appears alongside the original. I upgraded to Aurora 2019 a few days ago and have only used it three times but each time the HDR file has appeared without closing down LR.

John
 
Top