• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • We are delighted to announce that Single Sign On has just gone live, so you'll no longer have to remember multiple login details for this site. Most existing passwords have been carried over, but if your password doesn't work, you can reset it using the Lost My Password link. Your current forum username is Guest. You're welcome to choose your preferred username here.

Asking me to sign-in

Joined
Nov 21, 2010
Messages
57
Location
London UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Lightroom Version
Lightroom Classic CC 8.0
Operating System
Windows 10
I was on a shoot today. In front of client I pull up Lightroom CC Classic.

Asks me to sign in.

I don't have my password safe with me. I don't keep this password in my brain, I keep it in a password safe. Because it's highly secure, and extremely long. The reason is past security breaches from Adobe. I don't bring my password safe with me to work. I should not need to.

As a professional, I have the backup option of shooting straight to memory card, like I used to. But this was a huge embarrassment and I don't know where to go to get answers. Sorry to whinge off here, but I really would like to know if this is something that has affected other users?

The sign-in screen wasn't even the standard "we cannot contact Adobe servers, you have 30 days to sign in". It was just a sign-in screen, no other information. When I closed it, Lightroom closed with it. I was unable to use Lightroom.

I tried to contact Adobe to get some kind of official response. Is this futile? Will it happen again? Why was there no "30 days to resolve" screen?
 

Hal P Anderson

Senior Member
Staff member
Moderator
Lightroom Guru
Joined
May 12, 2011
Messages
2,885
Location
Canada
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic 8
Mat,
That must have been embarrassing, but this is probably not the best place to complain. See the "Bug Report/Feature Request" link at the top of this page. They get real Adobe developers there, and I'm told they read every post.

Personally, I haven't had to sign in since the first time, but I don't use LR on a portable in different locations.
 

Victoria Bampton

Lightroom Queen
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
Lightroom Guru
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
20,897
Location
Southampton, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
CC Cloud
Other people have experienced it, but it seems extremely rare considering the number of subscribers. There was a post on the feedback forum recently where one of the licensing engineers explained what can cause it to become completely unlicensed, and it was an oddity like the computer's time stamp changing. He said that connecting to some wifi hotspots can trigger the clock to change, or the laptop battery running out can do so too.
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2008
Messages
1,022
Location
Hong Kong
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic 7
I had exactly the same issue 2 days ago with Adobe Acrobat DC which is also a subscription service. I was at a clients office and was not connected to the internet. Fortunately I remembered my password. It was working fine from my office prior to that and it seems to have been triggered by the change of internet connectivity.
 

Bails

New Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2019
Messages
7
Location
Melbourne, Australia
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic 8
I think I'm having the same problem. I use Photoshop Lightroom Classic CC 8 on my desktop. I don’t use a mobile version, nor do I use LR on any other device. I was of the understanding that LR Classic was for desktop use and didn’t require an internet connection/login to actually work. In fact, that’s how LR has worked for me since I moved to the subscription service several years ago. That’s no longer the case for my version, since about December 2018. LR will now not start unless I have an internet connection AND I’m logged in. I get that I have to log in every 3 months to verify my subscription status, but this is a case of having to be logged in any and every time I want to use LR. That’s fine if my internet connection is working (which it often isn’t). If the internet ain’t playing, neither is LR. Is this normal?
 

Victoria Bampton

Lightroom Queen
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
Lightroom Guru
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
20,897
Location
Southampton, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
CC Cloud
They did change the licensing code around December, so I'd get hold of customer support and get them to take a look. It sounds like it's not saving the activation correctly.
 

Bails

New Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2019
Messages
7
Location
Melbourne, Australia
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic 8
Thanks Victoria. I suspected it might be something of that nature so I contacted Customer Support yesterday. 90 minutes later I couldn't get the support team member to understand the problem, let alone come up with a solution. By midnight, I gave up and went to bed! I will try again when I'm not so busy and can devote half a day to resolving the issue.
 

Victoria Bampton

Lightroom Queen
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
Lightroom Guru
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
20,897
Location
Southampton, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
CC Cloud
Let us know how you get on Bails. If you can't get through to the right person, post back and I'll see if I can find you someone sensible.
 

dhughes

New Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2013
Messages
3
Location
New Hampshire, USA
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic 8
Let us know how you get on Bails. If you can't get through to the right person, post back and I'll see if I can find you someone sensible.
Please let us know, Bails, if you get an answer to this. I am having the same problem and have to log in every day when I open Lightroom Classic CC 8.2. If you don't, hopefully Victoria can help!
 

Victoria Bampton

Lightroom Queen
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
Lightroom Guru
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
20,897
Location
Southampton, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
CC Cloud
A tip from an Adobe Staff member - try signing out of everything Adobe (web browser, CC app, etc.) then restart the computer, then log back in and see if it sticks.
 

dhughes

New Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2013
Messages
3
Location
New Hampshire, USA
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic 8
Nothing that has been suggested yet has worked for me. I am still required to log into Lightroom Classsic CC 8.2 each day.
 

Victoria Bampton

Lightroom Queen
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
Lightroom Guru
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
20,897
Location
Southampton, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
CC Cloud
Have you tried contacting Adobe Support yet dhughes? They should be able to log into your computer to figure out what's up.
 

dhughes

New Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2013
Messages
3
Location
New Hampshire, USA
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic 8
Victoria - No, I haven't called Adobe after reading of Bails' frustration after spending 90 minutes on the phone and getting nowhere. At this point, however, I should probably do so. Will let you know how it goes.
 
Top