• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • The May 2019 Lightroom updates are now available. There's a brand new slider called Texture, available across the whole family of apps. Lightroom Classic includes a new tool called Flat Field Correction. Lightroom (cloud-based service) has lots of big improvements including cloud trash, invitation-only web galleries, improved chromatic aberration removal and more. The Missing FAQ and Edit Like a Pro eBooks are already updated for the changes. You'll also notice the CC's have disappeared off the end of the names, so we've updated the forum names to match.

Publish Services Am I Happy?

Michael Naylor

Active Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2016
Messages
132
Location
Spain
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic 8
Lightroom Version
8.3.1
Operating System
macOS 10.14 Mojave
This is what I get for 12€ / month. Lightroom, Photoshop, and a Portfolio website thrown in.
Am I happy? Of course I am! Click on the image to visit my new Adobe Portfolio website.

12675
 

SaraLH

New Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2019
Messages
20
Location
Germany
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic 8
I checked it out yesterday because I saw that you live in beautiful Malaga - lovely site and very interesting work.
 

Califdan

Active Member
Joined
May 9, 2015
Messages
222
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Your post prompted me to look at Adobe Portfolio which looks interesting so I put together a quick Portfolio site using images that were already in Lightroom (Cloud) Albums. However, I have a question.....

My Lightroom (Cloud) albums are populated from Lightroom Classic via sync. So, when I change an image in LR Classic, a few minutes later that change appears in LR (Cloud). However, I don't see the mechanism to refresh the Portfolio site with the modified image. I thought clicking "Update Live Site" button would do it, but it did not seem to. I'm obviously missing something that is probably staring me in the face.

Snap1.jpg
 

Johan Elzenga

Lightroom Guru
Staff member
Moderator
Lightroom Guru
Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
8,575
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Classic 7
AFAIK, that button only updates the live site with any changes you made manually in this view. A photo that is published from Lightroom is uploaded, not synced. You'll have to replace it manually.
 

Califdan

Active Member
Joined
May 9, 2015
Messages
222
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Johan - In other words, remove the image from the Portfolio Album and re-add it?

Oh Well. For me that pretty much defeats most of the value of staying in the Adobe universe with Portfolio for a public website photo viewing platform. At least with Zenfolio, Flickr, and many others, using Publish Services, all I have to do is hit the Publish button to get all my latest edits out to the web sites.

I wonder why Adobe can't - or doesn't want to - sync Portfolio with Lightroom (cloud)? Should be easy enough for them.
 

Jim Wilde

Lightroom Guru
Staff member
Moderator
Lightroom Guru
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
11,472
Location
West Sussex, UK
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic 8
Your post prompted me to look at Adobe Portfolio which looks interesting so I put together a quick Portfolio site using images that were already in Lightroom (Cloud) Albums. However, I have a question.....

My Lightroom (Cloud) albums are populated from Lightroom Classic via sync. So, when I change an image in LR Classic, a few minutes later that change appears in LR (Cloud). However, I don't see the mechanism to refresh the Portfolio site with the modified image. I thought clicking "Update Live Site" button would do it, but it did not seem to. I'm obviously missing something that is probably staring me in the face.

View attachment 12678
Before updating the Live Site, you have to refresh the page (album) from Lightroom. Click on the "Pages & Integrations" button (the one above the blue "+" sign in the left-hand panel), then in the resulting dialog make sure the "Website Pages" tab is selected, you will see a list of the "Pages" (Albums) that you have included from Lightroom. For any that you have changed in Lightroom, click on the "gear" icon and in the resulting menu choose the "Reset from Lightroom" option. When that's done, you can use the "Update Live Site" button.
 

Califdan

Active Member
Joined
May 9, 2015
Messages
222
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Jim, Thanks for the workflow. A little cumbersome, but within reason if one keeps track of the albums which have images that have been updated since the last Portfolio refresh. Not sure yet how to so that. Anyone have any good ideas in that regard?
 
Top