• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • Stop struggling with Lightroom! There's no need to spend hours hunting for the answers to your Lightroom Classic questions. All the information you need is in Adobe Lightroom Classic - The Missing FAQ!

    To help you get started, there's a series of easy tutorials to guide you through a simple workflow. As you grow in confidence, the book switches to a conversational FAQ format, so you can quickly find answers to advanced questions. And better still, the eBooks are updated for every release, so it's always up to date.
  • 18 October 2022 It's Lightroom update time again and there's a new AI-based Masking tools and a new Content-Aware Remove Healing tool, as well as smaller features, new cameras, lenses and bug fixes! See this blog post for Lightroom Classic and this blog post for the Lightroom Cloud Ecosystem changes.

Almost lost my edits, pls help so I won't be stupid again ...

Status
Not open for further replies.

mist_d

New Member
Joined
Sep 14, 2022
Messages
5
Lightroom Version
11.5
Operating System
  1. macOS 12 Monterey
I have my Lightroom Catalog (+ several catalog backups) on my internal SSD on my Mac and my raw files + .xmp sidecar files on the external hard drive (backed up as well on another hdd).
I always had Lightroom to write changes to XMP files (save .xmp feature selected in catalog settings).
Yesterday I had a shock when I noticed that for some strange reason some edits in particular folders or files were gone. I inspected the .xmp file for those files and they all were totally "striped" down of the edits, back to "default" (no edits). Those "modified" xmp files were like 4 KB when others that contained edits were around 10 kb.

The behavior was strange because It affected only some folders and some files thru the entire catalog. Some edits were there, others not. Some files from within the same period had edits, others not.
I had a sleepless night trying to restore a bunch of catalogs .... same results. The backup catalogs were loading with the edited preview but almost instant would reset back to "no edit" state (kinda like reading the "modified" .xmp with no edits)
Today I reverted back to my current (to date) catalog. When browsing around, I noticed in Develop Module that the latest entry was "Reset Settings". When I rolled-back the history on entry before it .... VOILA !!! THE EDITS ARE BACK !!!!
I want to ask you guys, what caused this behavior ? What created that "Reset Settings" entry in develop module history, only for some particular files ?
How can I prevent this to happen in the future ?
Thank you so much ! Today I am filled with relief and happiness because I managed to save my edits :D and I want to prevent this for ever happen again. !
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top