• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • Stop struggling with Lightroom! There's no need to spend hours hunting for the answers to your Lightroom Classic questions. All the information you need is in Adobe Lightroom Classic - The Missing FAQ!

    To help you get started, there's a series of easy tutorials to guide you through a simple workflow. As you grow in confidence, the book switches to a conversational FAQ format, so you can quickly find answers to advanced questions. And better still, the eBooks are updated for every release, so it's always up to date.

"All Synced Photographs": A Couple of Questions

kitjv

Active Member
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
245
Location
Oregon, U.S.A.
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Lightroom Version
10.15.3
Operating System
macOS 10.15 Catalina
Having some spare time on my hands, I was curious why in the Catalog Panel I had about a thousand images in the All Synced Photographs collection. It is my understanding (which could be totally wrong!) that images in this collection are from using Lightroom Mobile. If I am correct, this is confusing since I do not use Lightroom Mobile. Interestingly, all of the images in All Synced Photographs are also in a separate collection that I previously created. That being said, I have a couple of questions:

1. How might those images have gotten into All Synced Photographs?
2. If I delete the images from All Synced Photographs, will I be simultaneously removing those images from the separate collection I created?

Thank you kindly.
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
12,387
Location
West Sussex, UK
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
All Synced Photographs means just that, it's a special collection which shows all the images that are currently synced between Classic and the Cloud. So ANY image that has synced between Classic and the Cloud (which could be images added to the cloud from any of the "cloud" client apps, such as Mobile, as well as any images that you have synced from Classic to the cloud). If you discount videos, which are treated differently, the photo count of All Synced Photographs should be the same as the All Photos count in each of the cloud client apps.

If you remove images from All Synced Photographs (being a collection, you cannot delete images), they will be removed completely from the cloud (but added to the cloud Trash Bin), and they will become "unsynced" in Classic (but not deleted from Classic). If they were in a synced collection in Classic, they would also be removed from that synced collection. Note that if they were in a standard collection, i.e. not synced, they would not be removed from that.
 

kitjv

Active Member
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
245
Location
Oregon, U.S.A.
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Thank you, Jim. I appreciate your explanation. Apparently the collection that I previously created is indeed synced. So it behooves me to simply leave the All Synced Photographs collection alone. That is not a problem for me. But I am still trying to figure out why the images are synced since (as I mentioned before) I do not use Lightroom Mobile nor have synced any images from Classic to the cloud.
 
Joined
Jun 13, 2017
Messages
320
Location
Melbourne, Australia
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Apparently the collection that I previously created is indeed synced. ... But I am still trying to figure out why the images are synced since (as I mentioned before) I do not use Lightroom Mobile nor have synced any images from Classic to the cloud.
You say your collection "is indeed synced", so all the images in that collection will be synced from Classic to the cloud. (That is what a synced collection does.) Perhaps at some point you mistakenly clicked on the "sync" box next to the collection name - if you did that, the collection and all the images in it will be synced to the cloud. In the process, those images will ALSO be added to the "All Synced Photographs" collection as well.
 

kitjv

Active Member
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
245
Location
Oregon, U.S.A.
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
That certainly might have been the case. To be honest, I was not aware that the small box to the left of the collection name was a "sync box". Thank you.
 
Top