After clicking "Snychronize folder" "Folder not available" is shown?

Biff

Active Member
Joined
Sep 7, 2018
Messages
343
Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Lightroom Version
Classic 7
#1
Lightroom Version
8.1
Operating System
Windows 10
After clicking "Snychronize folder" and confirming the window after this message appears:


What for is this folder not available needed? What does Lightroom store in it? Can I set a path somewhere in Lightroom to the folder I want to be used for this? Do one has to keep that folder or does it matter if it will be removed?
 

clee01l

Senior Member
Staff member
Moderator
Lightroom Guru
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
14,027
Location
Bellaire, TX USA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Classic 7
#2
For the User named "Administrator" the \Users\Administrator\Pictures folder would be the usual folder for Lightroom to store images. The Second reference to the "Pictures" folder. In the warning message is probably telling you that you are (Probably) logged on as some other User other than Administrator and the user that you are logged in as does not have write permission to the \Users\Administrator\Pictures folder.
 

Biff

Active Member
Joined
Sep 7, 2018
Messages
343
Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Lightroom Version
Classic 7
#3
For the User named "Administrator" the \Users\Administrator\Pictures folder would be the usual folder for Lightroom to store images.
What images? I thought, import images means to save their locations and their data in the Lightroom catalog. And the images I export / save go to another folder. And preview images are stored with the catalog, I thought.

How could I change the path?
 

clee01l

Senior Member
Staff member
Moderator
Lightroom Guru
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
14,027
Location
Bellaire, TX USA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Classic 7
#4
When you import images, you (Usually) copy or move them from a Source location to a target destination . The default target destination is a folder in the current logged in users Picture folder. If you do this logged is its Administrator the folder is in the path \Users\Administrator\Pictures. If you log in as a different user then the default storage location is \Users\[someOtherUser]\Pictures. Windows does not normally permit one user to have write access to another users home folders.
From the looks of the original message, it appears that you were not logged in as the Administrator when you tried to synchronize the folders in \Users\Administrator\Pictures.
 

Biff

Active Member
Joined
Sep 7, 2018
Messages
343
Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Lightroom Version
Classic 7
#5
Very sorry, I do not understand at all.

I had added / moved the (new) photos to the destination folder (already available in Lightroom) on an external drive I: and want to keep them there. I pressed "Snychronize folders" and would think the new images in that folder would be "imported", so made available in Lightroom / in the Lightroom catalog. Why are (these) photos moved to C: instead obviously?

Here is no image:



What pictures folder is meant? How can I move these photos back?
 
Top