• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • The November 2019 Lightroom updates are now available. Lightroom Classic includes the ability to export the same photos as multiple sizes/formats in a single export, content aware fill for panorama edges and more. It does require a catalog format upgrade and there are updated system requirements, so you may want to wait a few days before upgrading.
    Lightroom (cloud-based service) has export options (such as TIFF format, renaming and color space), custom sort order on the desktop, copy/paste to multiple photos on iOS and more.
    The Missing FAQ and Edit Like a Pro eBooks are already updated for the changes.
  • Are you using the cloud-based Lightroom apps for Windows, Mac, iOS, Android, Apple TV and Web? Then you'll love my new book, Adobe Lightroom - Edit Like a Pro!

    You'll learn how to use the Lightroom cloud ecosystem to organize, edit and share your photos. You'll also come to understand the thought processes used by professional photographers when they're editing their own photos, so you can transform your photos quickly and easily. And better still, the eBooks are updated for every release, so it's always up to date.

Adobe Desktop Service.EXE High & Continuous I/O Reads/Writes

Joined
Mar 29, 2015
Messages
134
Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Lightroom Version
Lightroom Version
LR Classic 8.4
Operating System
Windows 7
I occasionally have slow downs on my Windows 7. I have a USB based monitor extender that sometimes misbehaves and forces a reboot.

I just discovered that Abobe Desktop Service.EXE has more I/O Reads than my Malware Service. The counters for reads and writes are always incrementing. It has the highest I/O reads for any process.

Can anyone explain what is happening and if this is normal?

ThanksCapture.JPG
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
21,775
Location
Southampton, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
What were you doing in Lightroom at the time?
 
Joined
Mar 29, 2015
Messages
134
Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Lightroom Version
LR wasn't even open Victoria.

I made an adjustment and removed the option for Creative Cloud NOT to start at login, but Desktop.EXE still starts.

I just booted about an hour ago and Desktop.EXE is already the highest I/O read at over 160K. My concern is not so much that it's running but what is it doing with all those reads
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
21,775
Location
Southampton, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
Ah, I missed that it was a generic Adobe exe and not a Lightroom one. Odd!
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
11,736
Location
West Sussex, UK
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Pretty sure that's the service that has crashed a couple of times on my Mac in recent wekks (with no apparent ill effects!). Bug in the software which reacts differently on Mac versus Windows?
 
Joined
Jan 18, 2009
Messages
1,895
Location
Fort Myers, FL
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic
I've had some of the (WAY WAY TOO MANY) Adobe processes seem to run amok. When I research I find lots of people complaining but rarely resolution, though once in a while Adobe has patched and fixed a problem. Sadly (or happily depending on viewpoint) you appear to be on the latest.

I think to find out the cause you probably need to figure out what it is doing. That's both easy and quite hard. If you are technically inclined you might look at either Process Monitor or Process Explorer, both available here. Note I've never used their cloud versions, but the software is generally safe but not exactly for beginners. However, they will show you exactly what files are in use (if I recall Process Monitor is the best in that regard, and filter for the executable name). Whether this helps or not depends on what the I/O is. If it's something like a monitor, very high I/O count is not abnormal. If it's disk or network it might give you a feel for what it is doing (e.g. file or directory names) which might or might not ring a bell with you.

You can try calling Adobe but for something like this I wouldn't recommend it. You can post in the Adobe forums but will also likely need more details to get anywhere.
 
Joined
Mar 29, 2015
Messages
134
Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Lightroom Version
I hear you Ferguson. Tracing the process to the open files is something on a low priority for me. I have discovered I can kill DESKTOP.EXE without any effects.

I also found a reference to potential problems with older versions. For some reason I had a copy of Elements 10 installed. The uninstall was gone so I had to do a manual delete. Only thing left to do is remove the hive entries which always makes me nervous.
 
Joined
Jan 18, 2009
Messages
1,895
Location
Fort Myers, FL
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic
I also found a reference to potential problems with older versions. For some reason I had a copy of Elements 10 installed. The uninstall was gone so I had to do a manual delete. Only thing left to do is remove the hive entries which always makes me nervous.
I've never used elements, but in similar circumstances I've often found it useful to re-install the product entirely, then un-install normally.

There's also a cleaner tool though not sure if it works for elements 10 or not (also never used it):

Use the CC Cleaner Tool for installation issues
 
Top