• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • Stop struggling with Lightroom! There's no need to spend hours hunting for the answers to your Lightroom 6 questions. All the information you need is in Adobe Lightroom 6 - The Missing FAQ!

    To help you get started, there's a series of easy tutorials to guide you through a simple workflow. As you grow in confidence, the book switches to a conversational FAQ format, so you can quickly find answers to advanced questions. When you upgrade to subscription, there's also a Lightroom Classic version available.

Adjustment Brush not honoring settings.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Oct 23, 2007
Messages
680
Location
Perth, Australia
Hi

Not sure if new to 3.4 or not.

If i make one adjstment brush corrections with certain settings....

eg
Feather - 62
Flow - 62
Density - 62

and then go and make a new adjstment brush with different settings,

eg
Feather - 40
Flow - 40
Density - 40

if/when i return to edit the first adjustment brush the feather flow, density settings are not honored as per the original choices made (62, 62, 62), but rather are the same settings as the 'last' adjstment brush.

Very annoying, as sometimes one needs to return to a old brush to add or subtract a bit more, but I have no memory of the original settings. This is critical, as we know the settings determine the harshness and degree of each brush stroke.
 

Mark Sirota

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2007
Messages
4,055
Location
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Yes, the brush settings are separate from the effects sliders, as indicated by the horizontal rule in the UI. I suspect that's part of why there's an A and B brush.

I can see how it might be usedful to have it work as you describe, though. Might be worth a feature request over on the official feature request forum.
 
Joined
Oct 23, 2007
Messages
680
Location
Perth, Australia
Yes, the brush settings are separate from the effects sliders, as indicated by the horizontal rule in the UI. I suspect that's part of why there's an A and B brush.

I can see how it might be usedful to have it work as you describe, though. Might be worth a feature request over on the official feature request forum.

I don't follow....horizontal rule? Excuse the idocy.

I don't see how the brush setting being separate from the effect sliders is relevant. Both of them should honor the history of the develop change?
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
23,141
Location
Isle of Wight, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
Interesting use. I'd never considered needing to remember the size of the brush. I'd agree, it'd be worth putting in a request.
 

Mark Sirota

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2007
Messages
4,055
Location
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
What I was trying to say, apparently poorly, is that there's a horizontal line dividing the two sections of the Adjustment Brush panel. The top section is labeled "Effects", and the bottom section is labeled "Brush". The top section is remembered as part of the pin, the bottom section is not.
 
Joined
Oct 23, 2007
Messages
680
Location
Perth, Australia
What I was trying to say, apparently poorly, is that there's a horizontal line dividing the two sections of the Adjustment Brush panel. The top section is labeled "Effects", and the bottom section is labeled "Brush". The top section is remembered as part of the pin, the bottom section is not.

You know it's rare i ever go back to a pin to make a change. After making an adjustment brush to some slightly over exposed clouds, i took an image into PS/SE2 and played with the structure (clarity) and noticed i had missed some minor edges of where the clouds met the hills.

When i returned to the pin to make some extra minor adjstments, i couldn't remember the brush settings (and yes victoria, the size one isn't important). The problem is trying to then match the subtleness of the mask.

I can not believe i haven't noticed it before and more importantly can't believe that this is not a gimmy in LR's metadata principal.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top