• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • The November 2019 Lightroom updates are now available. Lightroom Classic includes the ability to export the same photos as multiple sizes/formats in a single export, content aware fill for panorama edges and more. It does require a catalog format upgrade and there are updated system requirements, so you may want to wait a few days before upgrading.
    Lightroom (cloud-based service) has export options (such as TIFF format, renaming and color space), custom sort order on the desktop, copy/paste to multiple photos on iOS and more.
    The Missing FAQ and Edit Like a Pro eBooks are already updated for the changes.
  • Stop struggling with Lightroom! There's no need to spend hours hunting for the answers to your Lightroom Classic questions. All the information you need is in Adobe Lightroom Classic - The Missing FAQ!

    To help you get started, there's a series of easy tutorials to guide you through a simple workflow. As you grow in confidence, the book switches to a conversational FAQ format, so you can quickly find answers to advanced questions. And better still, the eBooks are updated for every release, so it's always up to date.

64bit Catalina Released

Michael Naylor

Active Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2016
Messages
141
Location
Spain
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Lightroom Version
Lightroom Classic version: 8.4.1
Operating System
macOS 10.14 Mojave
MacOS Catalina is available for download as of today. Problem is, there are no less than 11 (eleven) 32bit Adobe Apps lurking on my system. Any thoughts? Has anyone braver than I discovered if LR and PS still works?
 
Joined
Nov 5, 2017
Messages
398
Location
UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Classic
Hi

Check our Blog from last night, it clarifies which versions and what works.


Personally I rely on a Wacom tablet and will follow Wacom's advice to wait for their final Driver version before updating my system.
 

Michael Naylor

Active Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2016
Messages
141
Location
Spain
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Hi

Check our Blog from last night, it clarifies which versions and what works.


Personally I rely on a Wacom tablet and will follow Wacom's advice to wait for their final Driver version before updating my system.
Thanks Paul, but what about Photoshop and if my Creative Cloud App say I'm up-to-date, why do I have 11 32bits Apps showing in the system report?
 

Michael Naylor

Active Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2016
Messages
141
Location
Spain
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version

Attachments

Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
21,779
Location
Southampton, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
AAM is the old Adobe Application Manager. It's been replaced in current shipping products by the Creative Cloud app, but you might have old programs (Elements?) knocking around still. Setup and Uninstall are again for older products, maybe earlier versions of Lightroom. You probably want to uninstall those older apps before upgrading, as the uninstaller won't work.
 

Michael Naylor

Active Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2016
Messages
141
Location
Spain
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
AAM is the old Adobe Application Manager. It's been replaced in current shipping products by the Creative Cloud app, but you might have old programs (Elements?) knocking around still. Setup and Uninstall are again for older products, maybe earlier versions of Lightroom. You probably want to uninstall those older apps before upgrading, as the uninstaller won't work.
Thanks Victoria. I've never had Elements. Only ever had the Photography Subscription. Uninstalling these "hidden" 32bit apps isn't that simple, although I do agree they shouldn't be there. What a pity Adobe hasn't bothered to find a way to do this during previous updates - instead of littering up everyone's system with crud.
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
21,779
Location
Southampton, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
Could have been Adobe Reader, earlier LR versions, all sorts.

When I checked my system earlier, it was not only reporting installed versions, but also archive copies stored on an external drive. After you've uninstalled the programs, you should be fine to delete any leftover files.
 

Michael Naylor

Active Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2016
Messages
141
Location
Spain
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Could have been Adobe Reader, earlier LR versions, all sorts.

When I checked my system earlier, it was not only reporting installed versions, but also archive copies stored on an external drive. After you've uninstalled the programs, you should be fine to delete any leftover files.
Frankly, I'm scared of deleting them because I've no idea what other system files might also exist. Who knows what side effects this could cause? Do Adobe have a script to clean up old unused hangovers?
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
21,779
Location
Southampton, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service

Michael Naylor

Active Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2016
Messages
141
Location
Spain
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version

dasuess

dasuess
Joined
Sep 21, 2015
Messages
17
Location
Minneapolis, Minnesota USA
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Has anyone any insight to what the situation is with Epson printer drivers?
Just updated my MacbookPro to Catalina to do some testing. My main system is an iMac. No new printer drivers yet for Catalina, but they have just updated Epson Scan which was 32 bit. A note on their support website says they are working on various updates. As soon as I try some printing to my R3000, I will post an update.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
 
Joined
Jun 1, 2016
Messages
4
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
Thanks, that's very helpful. I use a R3000 too, its a great printer and it would be good if we could use with Catalina.
 

Tom75

Active Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2012
Messages
334
Lightroom Experience
Beginner
I have upgraded my iMac to Catalina and it seems there are no problem with LR classic or PS CC

Regards,
Tom
 

dasuess

dasuess
Joined
Sep 21, 2015
Messages
17
Location
Minneapolis, Minnesota USA
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
I have upgraded my iMac to Catalina and it seems there are no problem with LR classic or PS CC
That’s good news...

I plan on doing my testing tomorrow from my Mac laptop, import NEF and RAF files, edit, round tripping to PS, and then printing from LR to my R3000.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
11,736
Location
West Sussex, UK
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version

Zenon

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2017
Messages
1,399
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Joined
Feb 7, 2018
Messages
34
Location
Shalimar, near Destin, Northwest Florida
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
I installed Catalina and with the exception of a ‘sign in to iCloud again’ issue, which I understand is quite common and was resolved with a call to Apple support, I have no problems - yet.

I don’t have any 32 bit applications as we’ve been told they wouldn’t continue to run on OSX for two (?) years. I was concerned about by Epson Scan with was 32bit, but that has been replaced by Epson Scan 2 which is 64bit. I tried it last night and it works fine, as does the Epson Perfection Photo V600.

I’ve played with the Sidecar feature which allows use of an iPad as a second monitor. I’m still working out how to easily get Lightroom to send an image to the iPad but I did manage to get a photo onto the iPad Pro and in develop mode was able to use the Apple Pencil to make edits and act like a Wacom Tablet (I’ve never used one, but the pencil and iPad seems to do the job I want it to). It appears pretty faultless, but it’s early days and any problems I’m having are probably user error.
 
Top