• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • Stop struggling with Lightroom! There's no need to spend hours hunting for the answers to your Lightroom Classic questions. All the information you need is in Adobe Lightroom Classic - The Missing FAQ!

    To help you get started, there's a series of easy tutorials to guide you through a simple workflow. As you grow in confidence, the book switches to a conversational FAQ format, so you can quickly find answers to advanced questions. And better still, the eBooks are updated for every release, so it's always up to date.

2015.6 breaks publishing checks

Joined
Jan 18, 2009
Messages
2,485
Location
Fort Myers, FL
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
13,300
Location
West Sussex, UK
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic
I've tried various publishing plug-ins (hard drive, Flickr, jf Collection Publisher) and have been unable to reproduce the problem. I assume you've tried resetting the preferences? In which case, and as you are able to reliably repro the problem, I suggest you put in a formal bug report using the link at the top of the page
 
Joined
Oct 8, 2007
Messages
5,877
Location
London
Lightroom Experience
Power User
I have found odd occasions where rebuilding the preview incorrectly moves images from Published to Modified. However, I can't yet see any pattern.

In any case, I have always found this area (how each plugin defines "metadataThatTriggersRepublish") to be flaky, and I know Jeffrey has a similar experience. Being realistic, it's not the kind of thing that gets fixed - it's not sufficiently damaging.

John
 
Joined
Sep 23, 2014
Messages
1,887
Location
Waltham MA
Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Lightroom Version
I just had an odd one. I had the film strip off, and was publishing to FB via Jeffery's plugin. No previews built (I had deleted the caches a few weeks ago, and these were images from 2005), define the smart collection. Click publish, turn on the film strip. Watch all of the images get "published" then jump into the modified and need to republish.
If I remember, I should have another batch ready to test like this next week.
I think this is a kind of funny big and will be a pain to chase.
 
Joined
Sep 23, 2014
Messages
1,887
Location
Waltham MA
Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Lightroom Version
That sounds like a bug that existed in earlier LR versions, but I thought it had been fixed. You might want to drop Jeffrey an email, I'm sure he would be interested.

After I repeat it. :)
 
Joined
Jan 18, 2009
Messages
2,485
Location
Fort Myers, FL
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic
In which case, and as you are able to reliably repro the problem, I suggest you put in a formal bug report using the link at the top of the page

Yeah, Ok, I did (here), but I suspect it is a waste of time.
 

IanL

Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2015
Messages
29
Location
Ontario Canada
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
I've tried various publishing plug-ins (hard drive, Flickr, jf Collection Publisher) and have been unable to reproduce the problem. I assume you've tried resetting the preferences? In which case, and as you are able to reliably repro the problem, I suggest you put in a formal bug report using the link at the top of the page

I have been experiencing this since the beginning of my using output modules in LR. I'm just ignoring it. I recently moved my images and catalog to a new HD and that process cleared all my previews (I don't back up previews) so all my collections think all their images need to be republished. But I know they don't need to be.

They key seems to be preview generation so if you clear your previews you might be able to reproduce it too. I am not really bothered by this -> this feature has never worked reliably as far as I can tell. Things seem to work OK while I am actually tweaking a collection and actually making changes. In that scenario I have previews already made for everything and LR does correctly notice when I make changes. Once I am done and everything is published I'm happy. If at a later date some or all of the images in a collection is incorrectly marked as needing to be republished I know its not really true and if I want to start working with them again I can just mark them as up to date and then start working with the images again.
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
13,300
Location
West Sussex, UK
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic
I just retested after trashing the previews cache on both platforms. On OSX I still could not see any problem, but on Windows 10 I did see the problem. So you might want to add to your bug report that the problem seems to be Windows-specific.
 
Joined
Jan 18, 2009
Messages
2,485
Location
Fort Myers, FL
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic
I just retested after trashing the previews cache on both platforms. On OSX I still could not see any problem, but on Windows 10 I did see the problem. So you might want to add to your bug report that the problem seems to be Windows-specific.
Done.
 
Top