• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • Stop struggling with Lightroom! There's no need to spend hours hunting for the answers to your Lightroom Classic questions. All the information you need is in Adobe Lightroom Classic - The Missing FAQ!

    To help you get started, there's a series of easy tutorials to guide you through a simple workflow. As you grow in confidence, the book switches to a conversational FAQ format, so you can quickly find answers to advanced questions. And better still, the eBooks are updated for every release, so it's always up to date.
  • It's Lightroom update time again! Color Grading and improved zoom across the whole Lightroom family, plus graphical watermarks for the cloud-based Lightroom apps, as well as the usual new cameras, lens profiles and bug fixes. See this blog post for Lightroom Classic and this blog post for the Lightroom Cloud Ecosystem changes.

2 versions of Lightroom istalled

VickiB

New Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2016
Messages
1
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Lightroom Version
Lightroom Classic version: 9.2.1 [ 202004070813-7699d98a ]
Operating System
Windows 10
Hi..... i upgraded from Lightroom 2015.6.1 to Lightroom Classic 9.2.1 a few months ago. I still have both versions on my Windows desktop and only using the new one. but i seem to have 2 catalogs now as the new version i use has Lightroom Catalog 2 on the top of the program when it is opened.
Can i safely uninstall the old version without it affecting the new version or catalog? I am getting a new desktop within a week probably so would i need to worry about the old version of lightroom and just move the new catalog over to the new computer?
i just downloaded the free e-book on how to move to a new computer.

thanks
Vicki
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
16,787
Location
Houston, TX USA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
I would simply zip up the “.lrcat” file representing the old version and move it to your backups folder. When you upgraded to v9. Lightroom Classic copied the data out of your old catalog and created a replacement catalog with the “-2” added to the catalog name. It is compatible with the v9 catalog structure. You should also update to LrC v10 which will repeat the upgrade process on your current master catalog and add a “-10” to the catalog name.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
 
Top